Chains Newbie! Can't even tension chain!

taylormade93

Local time
11:25 PM
How you going guys,

I'm a complete newbie to the motorized bicycle game. I got my bike yesterday (already built) and when I was riding today the bike suddenly cut out and tire did a loud screech. At first I was confused and had no idea what happened.

However it appears that the chain got jammed up the top area (not sure what it is called) so had to get it put in a maxi taxi to take it home as the back wheel would not move forwards or backwards. Now I believe I have re-aligned the chain but I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO TIGHTEN THE CHAIN :confused::confused:

I don't think the chain on there is too long as the previous owner told me he never had a problem with the chain.

I really want to get back to riding this thing as I love it! So if I could get some advice that would be greatly appreciated.

Pictures are attached for reference.

Cheers 1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg

If you don't have a bench grinder you can just file the pin down. You can also get a chain breaker tool from tractor supply, but they're a little pricey and you'll probably never use it again

Last edited by a moderator:
Is there a reason for why I would now need to shorten the chain if it was previously okay?

I don't have many tools at all at my place so was hoping it would be an easier fix.

So I need to take off chain from masterlink, then file down and punch it out and put it back on? actually sounds easy enough but is it necessary?

Cheers for the reply.

It sure does look as though you need to shorten it. The previous owner said all was okay there? I can't account for that. But that chain needs to be shortened. The slack is the reason that it jumped the sprocket and jammed up your rear wheel.

It's also possible that your axle slid forward a bit, contributing to the slack. But that wouldn't account for that much slack.