Newbie Here, Confused about CA Law!

cowboyish1

Local time
11:03 AM
I'm still confused as California requirements for licensing and registration for bicycles with a motor attached. Do they or do they not fall under the regulations for motorized bicycles?

The 2009 California Motorcycle Handbook states:

"There are two definitions of motorized
bicycle (moped). A motorized bicycle is:

-A two- or three-wheeled device, capable of no more than 30 mph on level ground, and equipped with:
-fully operative pedals for human propulsion.
-a motor producing less than two gross brake horsepower and an automatic transmission.
-an electric motor, with or without pedals for human propulsion.
(VC Sec.406[a])

-A vehicle with pedals and an electric
motor (not more than 1,000 watts) which cannot be driven at speeds of more than 20 mph on level ground even if assisted by human power.
(VC Sec.406)"

I interpret this to mean that if the bicycle has a gas-powered motor, then it must also have an automatic transmission to fall under the licensing and registration regulations for motorized bicycles.

Do the 2-stroke and 4-stroke motors typically attached to bicycles actually have a transmission? I didn't think they did, but I could be very wrong. Can anyone clarify?

Thanks much! :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Most don't. My guess would be 95% are simply using a centrifical clutch.

And the ones that add on a jack shaft shifter wouldn't classify them as a "true transmission".

Thanks for the quick response. Based on that, I'm thinking that a bicycle with a small motor attached is not subject to the same California rules and regulations as a "motorized bike"...at least, not yet. :)