Newbie Here Looking to Build a New Bike

BrittAS09

Local time
8:08 PM
Hi!

So I stumbled onto this forum while looking for alternatives to motorcycles. I didn't want to purchase a motorcycle and go through the process of getting a license endorsement plus insurance. I'm from Oklahoma and I haven't heard of motorized bikes or seen one in person.

I've pretty much decided to build my own motorized bike. I just can't decide how. I don't have much mechanical skills (but I learn quickly) and I don't have much money as I just graduated college and going into the teaching profession. That is part of the reason I want a cheaper and economical form of transportation.

I have a mountain bike that is pretty old plus a cruiser from WalMart that got stolen and trashed. I managed to fix everything but the back tire on the cruiser, and now that I have this idea to build a motorized bike, I think I might just build one up from the ground up. That way, I can put parts on it that will be quality and good for a motorized bike.

Glad to be one here!

hmmm, little or no mechanical experience? get a kit, rather than try making your own drive.

so, 4poke or 2smoke?

cost difference, 4 strokes cost more initially.

all 4 strokes are "awkward" fits into the standard bicycle frame.

the 2 strokes are plagued with reliability issues if youre inexperienced or unlucky.

the 2 strokes are the tidiest and easiest to fit to a frame.

a 4stroke only requires an occasional oil change and few other simple things.

a twostroke requires oil in the fuel and will die if overlooked.

a 4stroke is clean and quiet.

a 2stroke is loud smelly and smoky.

4 stroke doesnt use too much fuel but dislikes being overrevved.

2stroke can be fuel hungry but can really get to some silly speeds!

not much you can do to make a 4stroke more powerful without an engineering degree, machinery or money.

2 stroke can be fiddled with and improved or ruined, either way :) either cheaply or by throwing $100 bills...