Noob here, 62 yr old novice

• Thread starter Deleted member 31369
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 31369

Bought a bike from a man here in my area but he does not offer any tips or advice he just builds them and sells them. So I'm looking for simple tips to break in my 60cc 2 stroke bike.
1605222149606.jpg
Done about a tank of gas thus far but I'm having either overheating or stalling and restarting issues.
Any tips for a complete knucklehead who knows nothing at all about these engines? Want to expect, what's normal during break-in period. I had a pedal moped in the early 80s and burned it up because I didn't know what the hell I'm doing and I really don't want to repeat that I would just like a nice reliable little bike to ride to the park and around the neighborhood because I'm too damn young to use a Jazzy!! 😁 Thanks in advance and please keep it simple with your experience and suggestions. Ron

well, welcome to the forum!

ill start with the obvious, you NEEED to add 2 CYCLE OIL to the tank, (id recommend good quality oil, such as Amsoil saber or intercepter linked here for saber and here for intercepted) but any good 2 cycle oil will work, but these are what i have had the best experience with (also Walmart tc-w3 oil as well)

now, id recommend dumping what he put in there, as you have ZERO idea if he mixed it right, what kinda gas etc.

also, here's a good video on basic maintain

for break-in, you can start with 32:1 gas to oil ratio , the "manual" says 16:1 but that ends up with a really sutty exhaust and a smoke train, id skip that unless you are running used car oil ;).

here's a good oil to gas mixing ratio

next keep the throttle light to medium throttle, its really not good to hammer on er too hard too fast when its new, that comes later.

after a tank or 2, let er eat!

you can also tune the carb to get you better performance and gas mileage, as these bikes come from the factory Hawaii shmuck rich.