Sprockets OCC Stingray Sprocket Help Plz

HeavyMetal84

New Member
Local time
6:45 AM
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
6
I ordered a 70cc motor kit and the holes on the sprocket are about 3/4" too close to the center of the sprocket to fit on the rear tire. Same thing with the rubber pieces and the metal pieces that go inside the tire. Is there any way around this? I don't want to do any drilling or cutting to the tire. Maybe I could drill the sprocket holes out about 3/4"?
 

Madwack

Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
41
heya i just finnished building a chopper....check fer posts from me to see ...this Little Piggy

what i did as i wimped out..yup I did it the easy way

Motor Mount for OCC Stingray Chopper: Make sure u mount the engine on think rubber....engine is Tight and it dont move an inch..nice

Sprocket Adaptor/ Hub Mount for OCC Stingray Chopper:...insteada messing around fer 2 hours ......took 5 mins..ok 10 mins

and the exhaust he has looks nice to..my next purchace

http://www.livefastmotors.com/accessories.html

no there is some drilling to do in the back hub..but its so simple....and so much easier

Madwack

hope that helps

we also made a custom chain tightener....ill see about getting a picture of that and posting it

also what comes in handy...and i cant remeber what they called...tbars...like the older bikes had to pull the back wheel tight....had a bolt and screw ....tighter the bolt tighter the chain...:)
 
Last edited:

mikaleno

Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
94
Location
Silver Lake Ca.
Yeah, get the sprocket/hub mount from "Livefastmotors"; (in fact I like their chopper kit.) You have to drill the holes in your hub to mount their's. With my 36T sprocket I had to Dremel out the holes a little bit to match the hub.

If anybody has a better chain tensioner idea for the OCC StingRay I would sure be interested in seeing it!
 

BigFella

Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
49
i just used the set up that came with the kit,it tokk about 10min to fit and about 20m to tightn it all up
 

Attachments

  • 000_3125.jpg
    000_3125.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 1,142
  • 000_3131.jpg
    000_3131.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 1,014

mikaleno

Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
94
Location
Silver Lake Ca.
Hey, that will work too, and you saved yourself some bones.

Now I have the chain and tensioner on the outside of the swing arm on mine, runs better/quieter than on the inside of the swing arm.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1060.jpg
    IMG_1060.jpg
    117.9 KB · Views: 714
  • IMG_1062.jpg
    IMG_1062.jpg
    133.1 KB · Views: 802
  • IMG_1061.jpg
    IMG_1061.jpg
    111 KB · Views: 2,310

mikaleno

Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
94
Location
Silver Lake Ca.
Well you can move the motor mount forward or back to take up the slack. That's how I delt with that when I lost the tensioner. Only problem is when you use a smaller sprocket the chain hits the brake assembly.
 

mikemc525

New Member
Local time
5:45 AM
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
12
Location
San Diego, Ca
Well you can move the motor mount forward or back to take up the slack. That's how I delt with that when I lost the tensioner. Only problem is when you use a smaller sprocket the chain hits the brake assembly.

what is the advantage of using a smaller sproket? what size is best for the stingray bike?
 
Top