Tires Quality whitewall tires ?

W

WIZARDOFOZONE

Red Peril sporting black gumwalls

I'd appreciate any real bicycle hobbyist to educate me about whitewall tires. although I'm not well off, Marin County Ca. folk in general are, and the bicycle shops have the highest end accessorys,bikes,parts,and tires imaginable .... until you get to the white sidewall selection ..

With blackwalls, you can spend as much as you want to pay for tires that do everything short of inflating themselves as the prices climb.

I'm a total bicycle novice but I'm going to make a guess and then hope a true bike professional or tire man educates me or agrees: I'm guessing that thers's little choice in whitewalls because they figure if you're mounting something like a 26x2.125 then you probably have a laid back 1 to 3 speed beach cruiser , not looking for speed nor off road mountain work,and theres just no t enough interest in it for them to worry about making any high performance,high dollar whitewall tires, which probably fit just the "novelty' mode more than anything serious.

(Although I'd love an expert to tell me what a fanatic who restored a '56 Schwinn Phantom would use for comparable whites)

Thats my novice guess, sure would like input. After 500 miles I had to get the original whites off the Red Peril, and every whitewall I found was the most basic smooth treaded, thin foamy feeling tire in the stores. So Peril's sulking, and dressed in her new black gumwalls.

Harkins you 'da MAN !!