Random seizing and hard start

JohnRolfe

Local time
5:49 AM
I bought the angle fire from bikeberry not long ago. Only been out it on a few rides so far, but today has been the worst so far. On the ride home the head was vibrating and knocking like heck and loud, not smooth at all. Never had this issue before. Tried to get more tests in and starting it is near impossible. Engine dies whenever it starts for even a moment, and dropping the clutch randomly seizes hard, but lets up after a few feet of the rear tire eating pavement locked up. It’s getting fuel, but when ran with the choke off and air gets in it jerks so terribly I almost ended in a ditch. I haven’t opened up the head or engine, I have absolutely no idea what’s going on. I get spark, I’m running pretty rich 16:1 (it’s my first build yes I’m a newbie). Thoughts?

On the ride home the head was vibrating and knocking like heck and loud, not smooth at all. Never had this issue before.

Since it was not long ago when you got it...did you ever retorque the head bolts while breaking it in???...They loosen up periodically for the first 2 or 3 hundred miles or so and have to be torqued again to 12 foot pounds or if using an inch torque wrench, 144 inch pounds, in order to prevent air leakage resulting in something like what your describing...DAMIEN

Since it was not long ago when you got it...did you ever retorque the head bolts while breaking it in???...They loosen up periodically for the first 2 or 3 hundred miles or so and have to be torqued again to 12 foot pounds or if using an inch torque wrench, 144 inch pounds, in order to prevent air leakage resulting in something like what your describing...DAMIEN
I actually tightened them down today on my first ride today. They’re plenty tight, though I should check them again. The problem is that there’s random and really hard seizure when the clutch is dropped, but then it fixes itself. What could even cause that?