Rubber under the motor mounts yes or no.

sourapplesfarm

Local time
10:38 AM
Hi everone. Well here is another motor mount question. This is my first build and I'm using a Schwinn Del Mar. I have read every motor mount post I can find to get ideas on the front mount. I've decided to build a no drill mount instead of drilling. My question is if I wrap heater hose or some other type of rubber between the frame and motor mounts will it hold up or eventually just fall apart and cause me problems. Thanks for any info you can give me.

some rubber such as heater hose or ?? may be a good idea

somewhere there is shown some killer rubber mounts made for MBs -- almost like little car mounts

somewhere I read about someone having problems with the rubber slipping ??

mu cousins Happy Time came with rubber between mounts and frame -- fine so far

ride that MB thing

I bought a cheap leather belt and cut a few sections to use. Front and back of the tube. Seems to work quite well. (Naturally it needs to be actual leather. Not vinyl or anything like that)

Credit to Quay1962, who gave me the suggestion.

Last edited:
Ive had a great deal of sucess useing a piece of old tire that i cut up, i used a set of tin snips to cut the bead and left about a 1/4 inch of extra rubber to over lap the mount...i was trying to save my frame from being gouged up but it also dampens the vibes.

Well I guess I'll give it a try. I want to eliminate as much vibration as possible. I do like Bluegoats suggestion about a piece of leather. That might not break down as quickly as rubber. I'd like to say thank you to everyone for all the great build ideas I've gotten from this site. I saw a post on a design for a chain tensioner that looks like it would work alot better then what came with the kit.