Single speed conversion

All4-1

Local time
9:28 AM
Hi guys
I just ordered a 66/80 kit and I had a few questions- the main question that comes to my mind right now is:
I'd like to make my 21spd mountain bike into a fixed gear/ single speed. I believe it wouldn't be too difficult if I remove the shifters and derailers and just set the chain on the specific gears I want it to stay in
- this would be for a easy way to lock it into a mid range gear.
Is that something that would work? I dont have the money to buy all the things to properly convert to single speed so I figured this would be better suited for me

Any information would be great cause all I can find is people fitting single speed conversion kits- so can I just fix a gear on both sprockets or am I missing something?

Any other tips or information would also be very much appreciated. I'm new to this but it's very interesting to me.. Help me have a good first build please 😃

I've removed a few front derailleurs, but the draw back of removing the rear is you're stuck in one gear, if the motor quits and you have to pedal.......

Also can I make it have a coaster brake? I remember taking them off but I forget how I did it and dont know if it can be done

I just think it would work better and when I ride without an engine I keep in fixed anyway cause I just don't like to shift..

Darn- both posts were me not sure why it changed my name sorry

Let's start with first things first. A fixed gear bike and a single speed bike isn't the same thing. A fixed gear bike if the rear wheel is moving then the pedals also move. A single speed bike has a freehub that allows the rear wheel to coast without the pedals moving.

On to the next issue. You don't have a 21 speed mountian bike. What you have is a 3x7 drive system. Yes there's 21 different gearing combinations. However, several of these combinations are redundant ratios.

Here's the proper way to shift a 3x7 drive system:

Hill climbing
1(1-4)

Level ground comfort riding