snowmobile bike anyone?

L

lotsa_mpg

I was just checking out the bicycle track & ski kits at ktrakcycle.com .....they look pretty nifty and I couldn't help but think about building one with an engine. Has anybody in here bought one of those ktrak kits yet? I checked out their video and it seems to only show the dude riding it downhill...probably cause it's too hard to pedal it on the level........but with a 70 cc engine, a huge rear sprocket, and the baffles cut out of the exhaust...it might have some potential!

Pete

Two Words, OMG Awesome! :eek:

Too bad it does not snow here that much or I would be all over that.

I have no direct experience with one, but it has been noted on other bicycle fourms that they only show the guy pedaling it downhill. The ski and drive-belt aren't anywhere near wide enough to float over powder; if they were a FOOT wide, you might have something that studded tires couldn't follow.

The general consensus is that it's probably no better than studded tires would be. and maybe even quite a bit worse, as with studded tires, your fromt brake is still functional. With a ski on the front, you lose your front brake.
----------
I can't recall who made this bike, they sold them for a few thousand bucks each a few years back:
http://vine-ave.com/DSC04166.JPG
Also now there is the Surley Pugsley, with 29" x 3.5" tires:
http://images.google.com/images?um=1&tab=wi&hl=en&q=surly+pugsley
~

sno runner