Solar panel wiring ?

Minnesolar

Local time
4:41 AM
I'm building a solar-electric trike on the frame of a stretched adult trike.
It has three 12-volt batteries wired in series. There's a 36-V hub motor on the front wheel. Another important fact: I'm not good at wiring.
The trike has two 12-volt, 40-watt solar panels and a charge controller for each, that are wired together but still need to be wired to the batteries.
How would you go about wiring the two solar panels to the three batteries?
Would some sort of diodes be needed to prevent backflow or shorting of the electric current?
Thanks!

I would love to see what you are building. I am envisioning solar wings LOL.

You should just be able to hook the batteries up in parallel to maintain 12 volts. Each controller should prevent blackflow. I have 3 little arrays (each with its own controller) attached to 2 batteries for a project I have in my back yard. visit Northen Arizona Wind and Sun Forum to learn stuff like this.

Here's a photo from earlier this month, to show the panel locations:

011.jpg

As you can see, at that time both panels were wired to one battery. Since then I unhooked both leads from the panels. Can I just leave that wiring as is, and hook those two leads to the three batteries in series; in other words the (+) lead would connect to each (+) post on each battery, and the (-) lead would connect to each (-) post on each battery, so six more wires needed?

Since then two similar batteries, speed controller, and hub motor were added and wired up.

All the positive together and all the negative together is a parallel circuit. The voltage will stay the same (12 volts) which will charge the batteries.

Plus to minus is series, which would increase voltage, 3 x 12v, which will give you the 36 volts that you need for the motor side