Someone give me a summary/experiences of the hoot gearboxes

I

iron_monkey

I am curious at the current situation (Nov, 2009) of the "hoot" gearboxes and what their problems are, and whether one can fix them. I'm not a total novice; I've got an automatic HT 2 stroke running perfectly, now considering building up a 4 stroke.

I know that the early ones(figure of 8 shape version using gears) was noisy and the breaking clutchbell, have the latest figure-of-8 versions still noisy? Clutchbell is apparently fixed on later versions.

Anyone experienced the chain drive version? My chief concern is its gearing, which is somewhat tall. Can you still take off on level ground without pedalling?

Basically the chaindrive I can get for $320AUD, and the latest version of the gear drive (figure of 8) I can get for $390.

The G4 belt drive seems to be expensive($600!!) and yet theres still problems with it; slow gearing and the torque mashes up the freewheel sprocket according to Irish John, so thats written off. For $600 I'd expect something rock solid, with the same (lack of)quality of the previous Hoots its a rip off.

edit: I cannot get the grubee gearbox, at least in Australia.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

As I don't like to "trash" other products, just consider this. Are Chinese chains a quality product?

If not, then consider the results of a poor quality chain turning [and stretching] at a high RPM inside a case.

Do chains make noise at high RPMs?

What happens when a chain jumps off the sprockets when stretched?

Do chains need to be lubricated often to survive?

Answers to these questions should give you a better idea of the latest efforts from China.

BTW I love the Chinese HS 49 CC 4-stroke motor, as it is the exception from the normal.

Have fun,