Subaru - driving me nuts !

robin bird

Local time
11:22 PM
I have a Subaru robin 35cc with almost 200 hours on it. I thought i was getting carp in the carberetor so i put on a Dubro 1/8" line fuel filter. My mechanic disassembled it 3 times at 2 different times and it ran fine for about 10 hours then the same old problem- you can rev out to about 1/3 of its capacity only then if you dont back off on throttle it will die.I also tried another plug.
I moved away from this mechanic and so i bought another carb and poo the same problem. So then i thought maybe its the coil and a new one came today. It is set 100 mills above the flywheel and i also tried other settings- still carpy performance ! So now i dont know im not a mechanic but the service guide says adjust the valves every 200 hours - i need a mechanic to do that but do you guys need a valve setting every 200 hours? or do you have to clean the exhaust port ? would the 2 stroke Tanaka be less maintenance? :confused::poop:

I rode my Tanaka 32cc for 3800 miles and it has run beautifully, starts quickly, and has never left me stranded on the road. So I think it is a terrific reliable engine.

The only problems I had were:
1. Had to change the spark plug after about 2000 miles when it became difficult to start.
2. Had to replace the gas tank after original tank developed a hairline crack (possibly caused when a friend who tried the bike accidentally dropped it and the bike fell on the gas tank.)
3. Kill switch wire broke (but easily reconnected).

Robin- it could be the valve adjustment. When I was on a tractor site I remembered about the valve adjustment on those engines could let the engine warm up and then die. Low and behold I got one that did that very thing. What happens is the exhaust valve warms up and grows longer - if the adjustment is too tight (no play) the valve growth puts a gap under the valve and you loose compression and power.