Engine Trouble The sound of 4 stroking?

Carl Walichnowski

Local time
4:35 AM
As a noob I have no idea what it sounds like when a motor 2-cycle motor 4-strokes. I have engine troubles I've been attempting to get assistance with and I've been asked if the motor 4-strokes?? Well I wish I could answer that but I have no idea what that actually sounds like. Does anyone have a link I could refer to that would possibly show video of a motor 4-stroking???

usually, whenever it is not making that ring-a-ding 2-stroke sound, it is 4-stroking

this is not always bad if it does it other than under load

Well the sound difference is not technically my concern but the fact the bike is running about 20 mph slower then it should be and I'm trying to troubleshoot the issue. my next step is to do a compression test (it should be around 135-150 correct?) and also lower my jet size to tune the carb. If it is actually 4-stroking and I can verify the sound that could possibly assist forum members in helping me fix my engine problems.

2 strokes fire every revolution. Four stroking is when the mixture is to rich so the engine only has enough oxygen to fire every other revolution. So it sounds like it is only firing half as often as it should, and delivers half as much power in a given time. I still think you will find the compression low, but that is just a guess.

Please swap out that head gasket, I would bet that reused spare is causing the problem or at least half of it...
Oh I will be swapping the head gasket, I'm ordering the .4 & .6 mm copper ones tonight from BMW, I was just waiting for them to reply to my email about providing that sliding carb needle with the order. Don't worry Frankenstein Young Grasshopper listens well.