Throttle Cable wont stay seated

dcruhoff

Local time
4:18 PM
I've tried to search this and haven't found it. My throttle cable end likes to ride above or outside the cap where it goes into the carb. Is this a concern...it seems to run fine. Tried to duct tape it but it came loose.

Better described the metal end of the cable is up and away from where it is supposed to seat in the cap on top of the carb...can actually see the inner cable itself in the gap.

Like I say it runs like a champ. Takes nicely to full throttle and powers right up to max of 30-34 MPH but it just doesn't seem right. It's a grubee skyhawk 80.

I'm a horrible novice in mechanics but trying to learn. Or should I say having to learn. Bought this already built thinking I'd just ride. These things need maintained I'm finding out big time. But having fun learning.

Also noticed my plastic chain tension roller is starting to get grooved...is there a better alternative?

Start with the chain tensioner: If you are wearing a groove and it is relatively new, the tensioner wheel is not moving as fast as the chain. This is either that you do not have a bearing tensioner (replace it with one), you dont have the spacer behind the bearing and the tensioner wheel mount, or the chain is WAY too tight (1/4"-1/2" flex). Please check these areas.
Throttle cable shield coming out of the carb: Sounds like the slide inside the carb is not sliding freely. You quickly ease up on the gas creating slack on the cable, the spring cannot push the slide as quickly down, cable shielding rises out of the carb housing.

My two cents.