Tire shredding?!

Trip

Local time
1:04 AM
Just finished my first motoredbike build. It's a BMP friction drive with a Monster Scooter Parts 52cc Chinese engine. Took it out for its first test drive yesterday, had a blast. Got home, looked at the bike, and the rear wheel and the chainstay were covered in black dust. Turned out to be rubber!

Keeping in mind that I'm a complete beginner at this stuff, what do you folks think I'm doing wrong? I figure I might have too much downward pressure on the roller, too little air pressure in the tire, or just incorrect riding skills. Maybe all of the above!

Any and all input is appreciated.

Some tire wear is normal with a friction drive. What tire are you using? A knobby will wear out faster than a smooth tire. Under-inflation of the tire will also increase tire wear.

Take off gently..... pedal to get yourself rolling and gradually increase the throttle.

Jack-rabbit starts will cause the drive roller to spin on the tire.

Tire trauma

Thanks guys! I have a Kenda beach cruiser tire, so it's pretty wide and smooth. However, I never even checked the pressure other than squeezing the sidewalls, and I might have done a few jackrabbit starts and experimentally over-revved a few times. Hopefully that's the cause of the rubber dandruff. Being a "glass half empty" kind of guy I figured I had FUBARed the whole installation and tragedy and destruction were in my immediate future. Hard to believe a middle-aged man can work up that much angst over a bicycle...

A few points: