To piston skirt or not to skirt

Mark 1971

Local time
1:01 PM
Today I looked into my intake and saw that the piston skirt hung about 1/8" to 1/16" of the piston skirt impending my intake when piston is TDCThe ports look really good for a cast AL head( one piece jug and head). Is it worth it to skirt the piston? And if so, do I go ahead a bevel both the cylinder ports ? Polish the exaust side too..? Im a new builder. Just built 1st bike 2 weeks ago.I am looking for torque. Top speed is not my main goal. I do 36mph all stock so far

Today I looked into my intake and saw that the piston skirt hung about 1/8" to 1/16" of the piston skirt impending my intake when piston is TDCThe ports look really good for a cast AL head( one piece jug and head). Is it worth it to skirt the piston? And if so, do I go ahead a bevel both the cylinder ports ? Polish the exaust side too..? Im a new builder. Just built 1st bike 2 weeks ago.I am looking for torque. Top speed is not my main goal. I do 36mph all stock so far
Did you have the jug off before? You should always bevel the edges of the ports before you put it back together. Put the piston at TDC and trace the port on the bottom of the skirt with a sharpie. Then take it apart and carefully and cleanly file off the sharpie mark.

Did you have the jug off before? You should always bevel the edges of the ports before you put it back together. Put the piston at TDC and trace the port on the bottom of the skirt with a sharpie. Then take it apart and carefully and cleanly file off the sharpie mark.
Got an example of a properly beveled port? Brand new motor just broke in. Running 32 to1 fuel. Ngk plug. Cut big hole in the stock air cleaner cover. 40t hub mounded sprocket. Runs good just want more torque!

40t hub mounded sprocket. Runs good just want more torque!