Traveling cross country on motored bike

Status
Not open for further replies.

JunkyardDog

Local time
9:11 AM
I can already see from the threads here that traveling across several state lines on a motorized bike would present a myriad of legal issues, or would it? I live in AZ, where motorized bicycles are legal. I am a resident of AZ, with an AZ drivers license and address. Would I be illegal as soon as I crossed the state line? I will have the opportunity about the end of summer to take a month off, and would love to attempt a motorized bike trip from AZ to AR, a distance of about 1400 miles one way. I figured doing about 200 miles per day. I have done many 300+ mile days on factory built pedal mopeds, like Tomos. But doing it on an actual bicycle would be much better. Any ideas?

Sorry, never mind. I should have done some research first. Found out it would NOT be legal. That's unfortunate, a motorized bike ride cross country sounds like such a great idea.

Last edited:
Please explain what you found was illegal about the states you plan to cross.

We have members/riders here in all of these states.

Yeah, it's unfortunate that some states totally make them illegal..
Could you tell us?
Or if anyone in one of those state's that outlaw them outright, could chime in...

dont be a scardy cat. i live in new york state. and they are illegal here. im not worried... if you follow by all the rules, you will never live a worthwhile life.

no but i would like to keep the money in my pocket from those crooks and i dont need a vacation either if you know what i mean

Junkyard i think you would do fine i think you might be able to squeeze your way through some states if it is a illegal state but i dont think from az to ar are any illegal states i guess it depends how you go if you drop down into texas it might be fine on the way across there and i think arkansas is a legal state i havent been there yet on a bike yet

Illegal in some states and legal in others......