Trials and errors of operating a motorized bicycle

Thanks to you guys for your support! This site is so full of information.

I am a good mechanic but there is no way I could have gotten so far along the HT learning curve so quickly without this site.I am hoping that I can give decent feedback as to what works and what doesn't work.

First, I never planned to ride this motorbike in the rain. Still, I have been caught out a couple of times already and the bikebike was locked outside in a couple of serious downpours. I have read so many posts about concerns and warnings with regard to the stock kit CDI,but rain has had no negative effect whatsoever on my bike's performance. I was very seriously considering buying a high dollar CDI unit but that may not be necessary.

Also, though I hate it's appearance, the stock chain tensioner is working flawlessly. It must be adjusted fromtime to time,but that's easy and quick.I still have a killer idea for creating a "be all, end all" tensioner and I am gathering the parts for it, but the stock item is functioning well.

I have looked at several motorized bicycle parts sites and it's obvious that you could spend big bucks on your motorbike.I am honing the philosophy that one should maximize reliability and functionality with simple, cheap, creative fixes. If I were to start throwing money at this then,wouldn't make sense to just buy a motorcycle? There are too many cheap hardware pieces and too many junkyards full of usable materials to buy away every challenge! besides, I have a carbon fiber racing bike I need to maintain. My set of racing wheels cost more than all of the money I have dropped into this motorbike project!

Keep rollin'!

=Timbone=

Another thing to report: the cops are letting me ride!