Uncharacteristically, an introduction

Caithness

Local time
9:26 AM
First off, I'd like to apologize for breaking the rules with my first post by making it somewhere other than this forum. I'm usually very good about following forum rules, but other than posting on a few local forums I prefer to fly under the radar these days, primarily searching and reading and typically only posting when I feel I can add something to a thread. So, posting a thread of this nature is unusual for me, but I appreciate the desire to welcome new users to the board.

I'm a self-taught mechanic and web forums like this are my textbooks. I built a 350 HP, 11 second 1/4 mile Mitsubishi Eclipse with a little help from friends and a lot of reading on various web forums. Other than having a thorough understanding of the inadequacies of early 90's Mitsubishi engineering and how to improve upon it, I've worked on and modified LT1 F-bodies, swapped 240SXs, Hondas, 4x4 offroader Jeeps, center-console fishing boats and outboard engines, computers, and recently house wiring, carpentry, flooring, fencing, and other jobs as my folks have realized they can exploit my love of tinkering to save money on house repair bills. Probably most relevant to this forum, I have ridden and modified Goped motor scooters for almost ten years, and I developed a great appreciation for bicycling last year when a friend introduced me to offroad trail riding and I tried commuting by bicycle for a semester.