Want to do a ground up build, no kits, need a parts list

SawyerLD

Local time
8:10 PM
I have zero knowledge about or experience with engine mechanics, I don't know the purpose of any of its parts. That being said, I don't want to take a gamble on a HT motor, and I'd rather go with a Honda. Thing is, you can't just buy a kit with no motor, it comes with one. So what kind of parts would I need to do a frame mount of a 4 Stroke Honda engine? I plan on installing a shift kit eventually as well, if that matters. I've looked, and looked but I can't find a How to of a ground up build. I'll be certain when I do my first build to document the whole process.

Thanks in advance!

With zero knowledge or experience, I would urge you to start with a 4 stroke kit from Bicycle-Engines.com. , gain some experience before you venture into deep water.....The HS 4 stroke is a Chinese copy of a Honda engine, and I've had good success with them...The gearbox is the key to success with 4 stroke kits...stay away from the HOOT gearbox.....Some vendors call them a Stage 5....

good luck. a mill, a lathe, numerous metal working tools...and i still just stick to kits, having stuffed around with shafts and bearings, chains and sprockets, pulleys... getting things to line up... stopping nuts from undoing, yarda yarda... as mentioned...get some experience first! takes a few years to learn what will and what wont break, even if you are an engineer!

whats wrong with HT? buy a full kit, spend the extra cus the really cheap ones are what you would call factory seconds... and get a spare engine if really worried.

list for a complete ground up build... if you want to do it properly, at least.

welder/oxytorch.
cutoff saw.
handtools.
drill(press).
various nuts and bolts.
enough sprockets and chain or belts and pulleys to get approx 18:1 reduction on 26" wheels.
a pile of steel scrap.
timber for making jigs.
measuring tools.
a frame.
an engine.
time.
experience.
access to a machine shop helps.