What brake light options are you aware of?

Carl Walichnowski

Local time
8:03 AM
So while attaching all these LED lights to my MB a few weeks ago I was trying to figure out a way to use one of the LED's as a brake light. I personally knew of no brake lights for a MB but of course that's because I'm a Noob who knows very little about a lot of things. Thing is though there's plenty of Noobs like myself on this forum who could use the more experienced members ideas on brake lights. I only know of one that was kindly provided by another member on a separate thread, since this is the only one I know of it's my favorite!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/262901078902

Links to eBay may include affiliate code. If you click on an eBay link and make a purchase, this forum may earn a small commission.
12v battery and led strip lights that are a dime a dozen on eBay, plus some soldering skills.
Yea that's a great bright safety feature but is the only option to use a dual lever, apparently some people frown on using a dual brake lever...... I'm sure they have the same opinion for just the single lever.

If you're going with a cable brake, which I know you are, then there are some cheap brake lights available on the auction site that have the switch located on the bare part of the brake cable rather than the lever. This should mean that you can use whatever lever you prefer, regardless of whether it has been made to work with a brake light.
I have one somewhere so I'll edit with a picture of the switch if I happen to find it later.

I just do running lights now, but on my old bike my brake light was a second set of LED marker lights wired to a switch epoxied into my brake lever

I just do running lights now, but on my old bike my brake light was a second set of LED marker lights wired to a switch epoxied into my brake lever