What is legal in New Mexico?

Buchenrad

Local time
7:14 PM
I am new to the motorized bicycle. I am about to start my first build and I have no idea if there are limitations on displacement or maximum speed or anything like that. I could not find a thread on here about NM. Does anybody have an overview on NM laws?

Also if I was to altogether remove my pedals and just keep the crank and mount some foot pegs, would it still be classified as a motorized bicycle? (is MB the common abbreviation used here?)

There's full legalese for NM here somewhere, but here's what I know.Under 50cc's, must have functional pedals, need drivers license (I've never been asked or stopped), not over 30 mph.If you go rackmount, ride safely/courteously you should have no problems.Good luck.

Thank you for the information.

Is there a legal difference if I mount the engine on my rack instead of between my legs (I assume thats what you mean by rackmount)

I think Im too heavy to break 30 anyway... lol

Are there any helmet regulations?

From what I've read of New Mexico law you must meet moped requirements.

66-3-1101. Mopeds; standards; operator requirements; application of Motor Vehicle Code.

A. Mopeds shall comply with those motor vehicle safety standards deemed necessary and prescribed by the director of motor vehicles.

B. Operators of mopeds shall have in their possession while operating a moped a valid driver's license of any class or permit, issued to them.

C. Except as provided in Subsections A and B of this section, none of the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Code [66-1-1 NMSA 1978] relating to motor vehicles or motorcycles as defined in that code shall apply to a moped.