What SIZE engine?!!

Local time
1:42 AM
I know the answer is VERY subjective but, being a noob, I'm still doing all the research before I plunk down the greenbacks.

Florida has a 50cc limit on motorized bikes-legally. Now, this is where state laws and the laws of physics meet cataclysmically. I'm about 285lbs and I'm wondering if I'd be happy with one of the under-50cc engines. Not that I'm looking for ultimate speed or anything but, will it get me around adequately and, what about hills? I'll be building a cruiser type of bike and plan on doing a build thread as I go along.

If I were to go with one of the 80/66cc engines, what are others doing to circumvent the 50cc limit? With these EPA certified engines, the tags are right on the side of the engine, showing the displacement.

Any insights are greatly appreciated.

The tag on the grubee is rivited to the sprocket cove.
The PK engines just have an epa sticker.
Easily removed.
Other than the size of the Cylinder and head the motors look the same.
The only true way they could proove your engine size is if they tore it apart and measured the bore and stroke.

Anyway i have been running a grubee gt-2b 48cc and i got alot of power out of it.
It takes alot of patience and modification but really if you use the right size sprocket and aren't looking for high speed... both should do fine.

I just got a 68.5 cc haven't run it yet so i don't know how much power it will have vs the 48cc

Why try to cicumvent the rules and risk having your bike confiscated? A 50cc engine (or smaller) is plenty adequate if you gear it properly.

Make sure you ditch the stock exhaust and get an Expansion Chamber.
With the stock exhaust they aren't too swift.

I am about 220#...or a little more. I have a 49.4cc Honda engine (EPA approved) and it moves me fine. I can cruise at 30 mph all day. Tops out higher than that.

My engine in mounted in the frame on a cruiser bike.