Why wouldnt this work - Lighting

dwsutton

Local time
7:41 AM
Currently I have a 6v light run straight off the engine. Works pretty well but not the brightest. Im wondering if something like this could work -

A small 6 volt rechargable battery pack connected to the engine then off that an LED light for front and rear. Tou could construct the battery pack possibly from rechargable AA bats.

Would something like this work ? Ive been pondering this - how to use the voltage from the bike in a better way.

Yes

I was thinking the same thing. If you picked up a couple of LED lights (like down at the 99c store) and repackaged them yourself, you could rig up your own and it wouldn't draw much juice . . . and I wouldn't think that it would be hard to do. A battery pack would power that for quite a long time. How are you powering off the engine?

I am an electrical engineer and in the know about LED's,you could profit from reading my post "Lowdown on LED's" which contains useful info.I think what you are considering is certainly possible in principle and I may be able to help you in getting something built along these lines.If I myself had a setup like you, it would be pretty easy, but being not a fan of HT engines although I can appreciate your motivation,so I'm sort of up the creek without a canoe,but equipped with a paddle,or rather my electrical smarts.
The trick is to come up with a scheme that gets the 6 V battery charged without affecting engine performance unduly, secondly how to run your LED's from the battery without killing them( LED's are 2.5 to3.5 Volt devices and hooking them up directly to a 6 volt battery is a prescription for trouble, two in series across 6V will probably work OK ,so that's not the main problem.