Would this kit be a good option???

Hubmotor

Do you have someplace to charge that pack at work?? BTW the picture of the bike on that site is showing some sort of lithium pack because SLA batteries are larger than that. I have 14AH batteries and they weigh 29 lbs all by them selves. My hubmotor weighs 19 lbs. all by itself. I love my ebike. I hate it's range. You start losing performance about 3 to 5 miles down the road from discharge with SLA's It's still fun as **** to beat a road bike UP a hill because it is so quiet.

My batteries are now worn out and I have to decide if I am gonna spend 500 plus dollars on a exotic battery pack or 140 dollars on more heavy SLA's .

I do need to get my Ebikes going because I am not sure the train folks will sit still and let me carry a gasser on board.

6 miles each way is doable, just understand the limitations of that setup and be prepared to double your spending on some better battery technology.

Good luck.

I'm a motored bike newbie and still researching to decide on my first purchase, so I can't help with the original question. I just wanted to ask sabrewalt how long your SLA batteries lasted before they wore out. Also what kind of hub motor and controller are you using? brushed vs. brushless, wattage of the motor, and voltage of the controller would be appreciated if you know off the top of your head. And your experience of power depletion after 3 miles, is that 3 miles of no pedaling and full throttle or a more balanced mix?

Sorry about the off topic response, I'm just really interested in getting E-Bike user's experience.

I'm a motored bike newbie and still researching to decide on my first purchase, so I can't help with the original question. I just wanted to ask sabrewalt how long your SLA batteries lasted before they wore out.

16 months... Started getting very hot during charging and ended up boiling the middle battery

Also what kind of hub motor and controller are you usin