zbox/happytime?

suspect

Local time
5:55 AM
can i get some comments please on this clip which explains some of the issues a guy has had here in NZ with the zbox, what im most curious about is; are their actually any different motor manufacturers?
and, if not, is your american(chinese) 'happy time' motor the same thing?
it certainly appears to me that it is, i was wondering if anybody has any inside info they might like to share, im new to all this so hopefully im not stepping on toes and bringing up old beef.

ive just bought one of these motors and am hoping im not about to get a dud, i was aware there was some risk, but i foolishly paid BEFORE i watched this video... but i feel i can console myself with the thought that this is ONE guys experience, and much of his problems can be avoided by thoroughly checking the motor before use - or so i hope?

edit- opps forgot clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-nfS1-A4Ec
here is a link to his blog where he has some beef with an aussie(what did he expect? haha)
http://zbox-70cc.blogspot.com/

Last edited:
There are 3 different Chinese factories producing these engines.
All the engines look darn near identical on the outside.
The difference in quality of construction between the 3 factories is great.

For the most part, yes.
If you stick with the better respected vendors you will get a better product and support. They did not get their respect by screwing over customers or frequently selling junk in a box.
No matter where you get your kit from, you will have to withstand some shoddy quality control on the part of the manufacturer.
IE: Most all gas tanks have rust in them. Most all chains are low quality.
Quite a few need carburetor adjustment before they will run right.
Alot have the clutch frozen up, caused from sitting on a shelf for months on end. Some clutches need adjustment to operate properly. Some are assembles a bit wierd.
All of the above issues are very easy to repair.