Under Massachusetts law a motorized bicycle is considered a moped. A moped is defined as a vehicle with or without pedals that has:
- An automatic transmission.
- A top speed of 30mph.
- An engine up to 50cc.
You must be at least 16 years old and have a valid drivers license to ride a motorized bicycle in Massachusetts.
To operate a motorized bicycle on public roads in Massachusetts it must be registered.
- Registration fee: $40 (renewed every 2 years.)