Ohio Motorized Bicycle Laws

License Required & Registration Required

  1. Anton
    A motorized bicycle is considered a moped in Ohio. A moped must meet all of the following criteria according to state law:
    • 2 or 3 wheels (1 front and 2 rear).
    • Minimum inflated tire width size of 1.75 inches and an inflated diameter of 19 inches.
    • The vehicle must be capable of being pedaled as well as carrying a helper motor, which cannot:
      ―Have a piston displacement larger than 50cc.
      ―Be capable of producing more than 1hp.
      ―Obtain a maximum speed greater than 20mph on a level surface.

    To ride a motorized bicycle in Ohio you mus have a valid drivers license. If you are at least 14 years old you can obtain a motorized bicycle license.


    In order to ride a motorized bicycle on public roads in Ohio it must be registered annually and you need license plates. You do not need a title.
    • Registration cost is $24.50
    Other Motorized Bicycle Laws

    All motorized bicycles must have a:
    • Rear license plate
    • Rear-view mirror.
    Road rules for motorized bicycles:
    • You must stay to the right hand side of the road or within 3 feet whenever possible.
    • You can not carry any passengers.
    • If you are under 18 years old an approved helmet must be worn with the chin strap fastened.
    • The maximum speed you can travel at is 20mph.
    • You are not allowed to ride your motorized bicycle on freeways.