Moped beginner for Twin Falls Idaho

greedyrogue

Local time
8:20 PM
I am just getting into mopeds. I have been researching mopeds for over a month now and took the plunge and bought a motor yesterday. I have been involved with trying to clarify the moped law in Idaho and hope to get more information so I can promote moped use in Idaho.

Some of the guys here, stress the difference between motored bikes (what this site is composed of) and mopeds.
In my state my bike can only be used (and registered) as a moped- so my motoredbike legally is a moped.
But WElcome to Motoredbikes!

Same here

In Idaho there is no legal definition for a motorized bike, so in Idaho we have mopeds. I'm sure there is a difference, but I'll have to read a lot of the forums to recognize the difference.

Compared to the moped sites I have seen (2), the two motor bike sites are overwhemingly more popular. In a lot of states, no plate or reg. is needed for an assisted bicycle (the technical term for motor bicycle).

interesting

Here in Idaho there is no such thing as a pedalcycle or a motorized bicycle. The only definitions we have is a moped. I never considered that people would care what they are called.

For the most part we are all talking about a motor attached to a bike in the simplest terms. Regardless of what you call it, you have to go by the states definition that you live in. I think motored bike does sound better than moped, But I have to work within Idaho's law.

Like the saying goes, a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, same goes for our bikes.

Motorized bicycle is used as a term once in the code, but that is in relation to taxation, which only applies to the lone article.