newbie here with 1st build questions

i ran a 66/80 with an expansion chamber jetted carb and a 36 tooth sprocket and would see 45 mph. i live in florida with relatively few hills. im also 240lbs so these gains were impressive. as far as internal motor work i'd stay away until the time comes to tear it down anyway, you know the old saying if it aint broke.

question- would a 32 tooth sprocket be better that the stock china kind that comes in those kits? If so, why and would it do harm to the engine as well as make the bike faster

In the interest of safety, consider this ... A Pineapple Joint sprocket [ comes with kit ] only supplies torque to one side of the wheel,
a ' real ' motorcycle supplies torque evenly, to all spokes . A wheel that only sees one side torqued, will warp. The China Girl kit sprocket is poorly made, same with the chain. If you value safety, and reliability, upgrade to a 2 piece hub sprocket, and a better grade of chain .
BMX chain works well with many sprockets. As for sprocket size, the big sprockets make for good off the line punch. The 36 tooth ' powerbands at about 6 MPH up making it a useful bike. I've got a 42 tooth, slow [ 25 MPH ] but climbs hills . A local guy has a 24 tooth rear sprocket, his bike doesn't powerband until 20 MPH, can do over 50 MPH, and can't climb a gentle slope

What are you asking ? An 80cc engine kit is the raw basics. A better chain / Hub / sprocket is highly recommended

Harbor Freight 79cc engine kit ? .... Tell us more ! Sounds like your trying to compare a raw engine to a complete kit.

Also, are we talking frame mount, or rack mount ? The more you tell us, the better we can help.

harbor freight 79cc engine with rack mount or frame mount versus an 80cc china kit from ebay
Which would perform better?

Any motorcycle chain lube will do it. Some riders like 90wt gear oil, drip a few drops on chain after a ride . WD 40 is more of a cleaner than a chain lube, ok for pedal chain, wimpy for powered chain.