Newbie with Lots of Questions

lilwheel

Local time
9:47 PM
Hello, I'm new to motorized bicycles and interested in making one of my own (time to put my M1 license to use :D)! I've looked around the forum and it seems like friction drive is the easiest to put together as I'm not very mechanically inclined. I also won't be riding in the rain so it shouldn't be a problem. From what I see it seems that I should be able to buy a kit and easily bolt it on with basic wrenches and screwdrivers in a few minutes?

The two friction drives I'm considering are staton and roadbug. Roadbug advertises that their rollers are easily removable with basic tools but what about staton does their roller just unscrew or something? Because I would like to get 2 rollers one for torque and one for speed.

I've also looked at various engines, but there are so many choices. I would like to get one that's very reliable and would give me no trouble (if I had to open one to fix something I would be completely lost) be idiot proof and hard to kill. Engine size and weight matters too I don't really want a big brick that weighs 20+lb. I'm considering a honda gx35 but I'm not sure if it'll be able to pull a 130lb rider up a steep hill say 250ft over 1/2mile with no or minimal pedal assist? What should I expect the approximate top speed be on flat ground? Should I get a bigger engine for my weight? Would something else be more reliable?

Something I'm wondering is since a friction drive is connected to the tire when engaged, what happens when you come to a stop? Does the engine die like in a manual car if you forgot to depress the clutch? What about going down a steep hill without applying throttle and letting gravity rev it kind of like engine braking down a mountain? Do these little engines work like a car or would I need to give it throttle even though I don't need it to keep it lubricated?