What's he building in there?

Discussion in 'Rack Mounted Engines' started by uncle_punk13, Jun 24, 2009.

1. uncle_punk13

uncle_punk13 Guest

So I just spent the last three days living in my shop, sleeping on the floor for a few hours, and then back up and working like a machine on the Addams Flyer. Here's the deal with that-
    I am building this bike to be entered in an art show at a steampunk convention. Since I used the Tanaka 40 on my black sunshine, I am using an R/S 35 gebe on this- For the art show I am calling it a 'Preambulatory Velocipede' for fitting into the genre. I have a long way to go with this but it is finally starting to look like something... One of the details I am really happy with is the metal flake and lace paintwork at the headtube/gussets- I have never tried to do flake and lace paint before and it exceeded my expectations. Sure it's not perfect, but the process worked and I know the more I do the better I'll get at it.
    I had my interview and viewing of the project with two of the committee members and have been accepted into the show! Here is a little photo essay.
    Thanks for letting me express this, I am so excited about this that I was about to burst.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2009

2. bamabikeguy

bamabikeguy Active Member

I'd guess you will paint the yellow cover on the R/S to match??

The more you ride with these engines, the more fond you get, decibel wise.

3. fetor56

fetor56 Guest

Neat idea modding the tank to see fuel level....do u know yet if it worked as expected?
  4. stude13

stude13 Active Member

chantilly lace and a cool gas tank. it does look very velocipedy. go punk go. mitch
  5. uncle_punk13

uncle_punk13 Guest

Hey thanks fellas!
    I'm flying out for Tennessee tomorrow for a few days, but when I get back I'll be going like heck again on this.