First build questions from a N00B -- 4 stroking, idling, etc.

jesse52

Local time
2:40 PM
Hey everyone,

Last weekend I finished building my bike, and man am I happy with it! However there are a few minor issues I can't seem to work out.

My engine is a standard 49cc HT (PK50B). I replaced the stock plug which was slightly broken to begin with with a NGK B6HS, and just today I took it out after 10km, and it's already black with carbon. The problem I am guessing is a much too rich mixture, so rich that the bike is 4-stroking the entire time, with low rpm. I adjusted the screw, c clip, everything you could normally do. cleaned the air filter, pretty much everything but no change. It seems that when I got the bike it would stop 4-stroking when I accelerated, but it's not even doing that now.

2nd problem... Idling. I'm new to this, but I'm not completely ignorant. Basically, should the bike idle when the throttle is completely down? Like... if the cable wasn't even there would it idle normally? Right now I have the throttle adjusted so that I adjust the idle by adjusting the throttle cable, the screw does pretty much nothing.

Also, another note is that the kill switch that came with the bike did nothing so I removed it, and now I just kill the bike by pulling up the choke. Is this bad for the engine? Oh... and is 4-stroking bad for the engine also?

Thanks. This is a great forum and without it I would be completely lost.

Jess

You should be able to set the idle with the idle screw, if you turn it in far enough. It's not a good idea to do it with the throttle cable. It needs 2-3mm of slack, otherwise the engine revs will increase when you turn the handlebars to the sides.

Sounds too rich to me. Mine was similar when I got it. I had to go down from an 0.79mm main jet to an 0.72mm before my engine would run properly.

Four-stroking won't damage your engine, but as you've noticed, oil and carbon will build up quickly.