Knocking at higher RPMs???

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by GCrews25, Oct 1, 2014.

1. GCrews25

GCrews25 New Member

Not exactly sure what is going on. At mid to higher RPMs I'm getting a loud knocking sound that doesn't sound great. As soon as it starts making this noise I have to grab the clutch and slow down a bit and it goes away until I start moving as fast again. If I keep going at the same speed once the knocking starts, then she slows way down and will keep slowing down until I grab the clutch again :veryangry:. I'm running my last tank of break in mixture through now, and I was told to use 16:1. I am pretty sure the chain isn't hitting anything, so I have no idea what it could be. First build, so I am also pretty new at this... Any help would be great!! :confused:

2. crassius

crassius Well-Known Member

if it sounds like a high-pitched popcorn popping sound, that may be normal until motor runs in - if a low-pitched clunking sound, that may be backlash in the output shaft (a little can be normal, but a lot can mean a loose chain that needs adjusting)

3. GCrews25

GCrews25 New Member

It's more of the low clanking sound. My chain is tight though, so if you could please elaborate on that a little more maybe?? I'm totally stumped

4. crassius

crassius Well-Known Member

not sure then, wish I were there to see/hear it - if you could get the back wheel in the air & watch & listen to the chain run, you might find something there

5. GCrews25

GCrews25 New Member

Yea, that's my next step. Hopefully I'll find something there. Thanks anyways!

6. GCrews25

GCrews25 New Member

Update:
    The chain seems to move freely, and doesn't hit anything. Same reoccurring problem though. Maybe the piston is traveling too far and hitting the spark plug, but it only occurs at higher speeds and runs just fine at slower speeds? I'm really out of ideas; any help is greatly appreciated!

7. jaguar

jaguar Well-Known Member