New ebike build

johnsteve

Local time
8:50 PM
New noob (Ebikes) noob here, so be gentle.

I am wanting to build a front wheel system, but I have a few questions here. I am look to buy this motor. Its the QS 205 35H V. I want to install it on the front forks, with a rack for the batteries above the wheel.

What kind of controller should I get with this motor? I really have no idea. A three speed system would be ok, I guess. 72V? What is the difference between brand names? What do you look for in a controller? I really have no idea here.

Batteries, How big should 4 or 5 brick be? Will they fit on the rack, mounted in the front? Do I really need 4 bricks, or could something smaller be better? Where would the bricks come from? Any links or recommendations?

Also I have heard that vibration is not good for the system. I guess its not good for any system, but the electronics in particular could be reduced, if possible. Would there be a difference in mounting the batteries, and controller in front or on the rear rack?

Yes I do, because I want a reclined seat post, and I worry about not fitting back there, I also would like to put some kind of rack for transporting things.

This seems very cool and potentially fast. I bought my ebike from a kit and added other "things" to it. But, if you have the resources go for 72V, a good controller, and a beefy battery 1kW+. I am running Lithium ion but there are also Lithium Polymer (RC packs) and Lithium Iron Phosphate. From my understanding, Li-ion is light weight, Li-Po has high C, and Li-Fe-Po high discharge cycle and flat discharge curve.

What are you looking to do with this bike? Replace gas bike?