Shiftable Gears

Discussion in 'Performance Mods' started by SlicerDicer, May 5, 2007.

1. SlicerDicer

SlicerDicer Guest

Ok I had a thought. Rear derailer? out of the question. Front! might just work? Crude image below and I will explain.

Fixed the image as noted in post below.

Ok there is multiple rear sprockets I can get in size. I am thinking if I stack 3 of them. 48, 44, 36. Once stacked I can run a stainless steel pipe so that I can mount a crankset front derailer on it. That would allow the chain to pass through and kick from one cog to another on the rear allowing for use of all 3 cogs? More or less giving the capability to have somewhat shiftable gears?

What do you think? By the way I am horrible at explaining myself but I hope that this works. I am not a mechanic I am a computer nerd :lol:

2. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

using the front-derailer is a new concept here i think, i can see how it might be worth a shot, tho...
  3. SlicerDicer

SlicerDicer Guest

I searched around looking for information on it but I figure a front derailer can be used as its wider and able to handle the chain and really no "force" is pushed on it to a degree. So you would turn the wheel cogset almost to a crankset cogset so to speak. That was my thought

oops I just noticed I connected the chain to the crank... Yeah its horrible drawing... I was meaning to connect that chain that is on the crank to the engine :razz:

Would anybody be able to get me the width of the chain used on a 80cc?

Image Credit to

As seen in this image if needed I should be able to expand the size of the cage with the cage screw? As well I might be able to just bend the cage itself and make the chain fit.

if my brain is working right a derailer like this should fit just fine ontop of those cogs and allow for changing? As most front derailers move up/down as well as in/out.
  4. Guest

Guest Guest

415 or .081 is the size I believe you are looking for.