A Question for you Lawyers in our midst.

SimpleSimon

Local time
10:02 PM
I am a layman when it comes to the law - what little I know is the result of self-education as I've had cause to learn things, over the years. My understanding is rudimentary at best, and sadly prone to error - gross error sometimes.

That said, would not the "full faith and credence" clause of the US Constitution apply to motorized bikes, and other vehicles? Here's the meat of my quandry - if I register my bike legally and properly in the jurisdiction in which I reside, is not that registration legal and binding upon the authorities of other states I might happen to ride in and through?

It's not a hypothetical question for me - if I can manage it, it is my intent to embark on some fairly lengthy tides once my bike is built and debugged.

I'm not a lawyer but I stayed in a Holiday Inn once.

I would think if you had some formal registration (paperwork) and plates that other states would have to honor it as a courtesy. That doesn't mean they can't stop you every 10 feet to check your registration :)

Hi, SS
As usual, it's not that simple. I haven't researched the FFC clause of the US Constitution for a few years but, unless the entire area of the law has been overturned in the last few years, it doesn't really answer this question.
The bottom line is this: States are free to enforce their own public policies with their own laws regardless of the policies set by other states and regardless of the potentially contrary language in the FFC language in the US Constitution.
The FFCC is mostly used for RECORDS and evidentiary reasons. If you want to prove you own a piece of realty in another state, you can introduce that state's public records to prove it and the court in the state you're in can't question it just because it doesn't like the other state's record keeping.