CVT CVT For Smaller 4 Stroke?

Discussion in 'Transmission / Drivetrain' started by Mike St, Nov 30, 2009.

1. Mike St

Mike St Member

I see where the X2 CVT has been successfully mated to a 2 stroke engine. I'm a newbie on CVTs, and want to know if anyone has adapted the CVT to a smaller 4 stroke, like a Honda GX 35 or Subaru 25? I want to develop a power system to meet Illinois law if possible. Mike

2. Happy Valley

Happy Valley Active Member

EHO35a.jpg

Yes to the Honda GX35 and Robin EHO35, both have the 76mm clutch and CVTs are readily available in that configuration.

Not so to my knowledge however with the smaller engines, the Robin EHO25 and Honda GX25 both have the 54mm clutch.

3. Mike St

Mike St Member

I am sure Staton has an adaptor to go from 54mm to 76mm clutches for smaller engines. True? This would mean I could go smaller to GX25. Right?

4. Happy Valley

I'm not aware of any adaptor that fits that description, Staton or otherwise.
    Got a link?

5. Mike St

Mike St Member

6. loquin

loquin Active Member

You would also need a 54mm clutch drum on the CVT, to mate with the 54mm clutch on the small engine. The adapter just allows the 78mm equipment to physically bolt up to the 54mm mounting.

You may not have enough power with a 25cc motor, as the CVT loses some power (more than a chain drive.) For sure, you can't plan on high speed with it.

7. Mike St

Mike St Member

The law here limits a motorized bicycle to one hp and no more than 20mph, so I'm not looking for high speed. Just moderate speed. A 25 cc engiine sounds perfect.

8. loquin

loquin Active Member

Cool. Configure the total gearing (when the CVT is completely engaged at max RPM) for 20 MPH, then the low end falls into place. You're probably looking at a max-torque speed of 5 MPH or so.

9. Mike St

Mike St Member

The question is with this setup, would I have sufficient power to take off from a standstill without pedaling? Any guess?

10. Happy Valley