Florida Moped law

Discussion in 'Laws, Legislation & Emissions' started by davidsis, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. davidsis

    davidsis Guest

    This is the florida moped law

    Section 320.01(28), Florida Statutes: "Moped" means any vehicle with pedals to permit propulsion by human power, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2 brake horsepower and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on level ground, and with a power-drive system that functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive system is engaged. If an internal combustion engine is used, the displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimete

    Would this mean that our bikes maybe not moped because a clutch is necessary to ride it if you are going down hill and to start it going?
     

  2. gone_fishin

    gone_fishin Guest

    that's what i'd argue...
     
  3. navery

    navery New Member

    it says After the system is engaged, so i guess they are mopeds. I read that you need to register them for $19 at the tax collector office, but don't need insurance
     
  4. navery

    navery New Member

  5. davidsis

    davidsis Guest

    If you read the first line it says that motorized bicycle is not a vehicle.
     
  6. GasKicker

    GasKicker Member

    You have to refer to "Definition of Terms" section on the DMV website to get a clearer picture of what's a moped and what's a motorized bicycle.
    How's your legaleese?
     
Loading...