How much pedaling do you do?

Nanonevol

Local time
9:05 PM
So I'm a newbie and have a kit in a box and deciding on the bike. The cruise style looks the coolest and that matters to me. I see a lot of cruiser builds without the whole derailleur gearing setup and wonder what it's like to pedal these single speed bikes.
I guess my question is really how much pedaling do people find themselves doing with all this chunky hardware attached? Just on hills? When out of gas? Never?

I'm sure every rider has a different story. I pedal quite a lot as I am a cyclist. I pedal more often when I am riding fast. Perhaps I'm cooler when I pedal hard while going fast, versus pedalling hard at slower speeds. I do it for the exercise.

On my Grubee 4G bike I only used pedals for emergencies like if my bike broke down while using the motor. I usually make sure I'm topped off on fuel so I'm usually not worried about running out. These engines are usually pretty efficient. Pedaling was a bit of a drag (literally) when I had to and the transmission would make this annoying clicking sound like a torque wrench in reverse.

After my second breakdown on my Grubee bike I've decided I'm done with cheap kits and converted my cruiser back to a normal bike. For my next build I plan on getting a rear mount friction drive kit on my mountain bike so I can lift up the rear mount to make pedaling easier so I can do more of both pedaling and motoring. Motor I'm using doesn't seem add much weight and my mountain bike is over all pretty light weight so pedaling on my next build should be a breeze compared to my last build.

I'm old & can't pedal - out of gas, I walk it home. Most cruisers with derailers come with real brakes too.