How to ride LEGAL in Colorado?

Discussion in 'Laws, Legislation & Emissions' started by willfargo, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. willfargo

    willfargo Member

    Hello all!
    First post here!
    I'm trying to get a bike set up to ride, however i want to make sure it is/i am as legal as possible. I was planning on getting a setup from craigslist for a 66cc kit with a jack shaft.

    Colorados laws state that the bike has to be registered with a tag on the bike.
    After multiple trips to the Motor Vehicle department and even the police station... i'm stumped as to what i need to do!

    Motor Vehicles sent me to police and said they couldnt give me the registration sticker. after an hour consulting with an officer, i was directed to a different officer. Here's the info i was given:
    1) the bike has to have a VIN number to be issued the registration sticker.
    2) in order to get a VIN number, the bike needs to go through a VIN inspection from the Colorado State Patrol.

    Now here's the issue. The kit i am buying is a 66cc, but colorado law states that the engine has to be under 50cc. The officers i talked to said that it may not matter much of the engine size depending on how thorough the inspection is. Has anyone gone through this process?! seems like for such a popular mode of transportation, the police are really not on top of it!
     

  2. motorpsycho

    motorpsycho Active Member

    simple....
    #1. IF you must ride "legally", get a 48 c.c. engine and not a 66 c.c
    they run the same, look the same, the 49's don't have the vibrations that the 66's have, and actually a 49 c.c. will outrun a 66 c.c. when set up and tuned right.

    #2. LIE. tell them that your 66 c.c. is a 49. c.c. the only way they would be able to tell that it's a 66 is if they pull the engine apart and measure the bore, and stroke.

    #3. if you can't get the vin #, just ride it and don't get caught. IF you do get caught, play dumb...say you had no idea that there was a law against them and again, say it's 49 c.c.'s.

    I'm sorry if you don't feel the same way that i do, but this is the way i'd do it.
    I have been riding for 3 years now, and the only time i have been "stopped" by the cops was so they could check out my bikes and tell me how cool they are.
     
  3. MikeJ

    MikeJ Member

    Motorpsycho point #1 is your best advice if you want to ride legally with least frustration, as you are discovering. I will add: if you want it legal with a larger engine, you will need to make it motorcycle-fitted: no more than two headlights, working horn, taillights (a "should-have" anyway), turn signals are optional, and more. A state-issued VIN is a painful paperwork process. I have not found an insurer who will insure a vehicle that does not have a VIN.

    I have over 1500 miles on Colorado roads. I have been seen and passed on the road by many city, county and state law officers. None have looked at me even twice probably because 1) I wear a white motorcycle helmet, 2) wear a bright yellow nylon jacket, 3) stay under posted speed, and 4) obey all other laws of the road. I ride a 66cc build.

    Your engine will probably have nothing on it to state what size it is. If you don't give law officers reason to stop you, they will leave you alone.
     
  4. willfargo

    willfargo Member

    Super! from what i hear it sounds pretty easy to just say "heres my setup, its a 49cc" with no problem. Now my only other question would be, how many hours are these little engines good for before they need a rebuild?
     
  5. MikeJ

    MikeJ Member

    Will - You have a LOT of reading to do. The answer will range from zero to thousands of miles. (That zero was mine, by the way. I almost trashed a brand new engine after tightening head studs to "recommended torque". Studs stripped out the case threads. I tore it apart into pieces, got replacement parts, and later placed over 1300 miles on that engine.) Someone else will claim the high-mileage record. . . .

    Research the continuing debate about engine oils. Engine life is often a function of how hard or easy you ride the engine. Like a race engine, life seems to be inversely proportional to the way you ride. And that is a function of how the rider treats it.

    Enjoy reading and researching!

    MikeJ
     
  6. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    willfargo
    http://www.broomfield.org/police/motorscooters.shtml
    Summary of laws regarding the use of under 50cc motorized vehicles in Broomfield:

    � Motorized Bicycles MAY be ridden on public roadways.

    � Motorized Bicycle riders must have a valid driver's license, but are not required to have a motorcycle endorsement.

    � Motorized Bicycles ridden on public roadways must have a valid registration decal.

    � Motorized Bicycles ridden on public roadways are not required to have insurance.

    � Motorized Bicycle riders and passengers must wear eye protection. Colorado currently has no helmet law.

    � Motorized Bicycle riders must obey all laws applicable to other motor vehicles.

    � Motorized Bicycles MAY NOT be ridden on sidewalks, bike trails, parks, fields or any other areas commonly used by pedestrians and bicycles.



    � Motorized Bicycle riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet per C.R.S. 42-4-1502 (4.5)(a)(I).

    Are riders of Motorized Bicycles, Motor-driven Cycles, Motorscooters and Motorbicycles required to have a driver's license?

    YES. If the engine size is under 50 cc, the rider is required to have a valid driver's license, but not a motorcycle endorsement, to operate it on a public roadway. Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-103 not only requires motorized bicycle riders to possess a valid driver's license, but it also prohibits them from riding on interstate systems, except where bicycles are allowed.

    Are these vehicles required to be registered?

    YES. Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-311(1) requires these vehicles be registered through the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles Registration Section. Upon registering the vehicle, a number decal shall be securely affixed to the motorized bicycle frame in a conspicuous place. The registration is valid for 3 years. Further information and necessary forms can be found at http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/formspdf/2579.pdf.

    Are these vehicles required to be insured?

    NO. If the engine is under 50 cc, it is not considered a "motor vehicle". Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-1409 and Model Traffic Code 1409 require only "motor vehicles" carry a current insurance policy.

    Are riders of these vehicles required to wear a helmet and eye protection?

    In Colorado there is currently no law requiring riders or passengers to wear a helmet, although it is always recommended.
    Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-232(1) and Model Traffic Code 232(1) require that both riders and passengers wear goggles or eyeglasses with lenses made of safety glass or plastic.

    Are riders of Motorized Bicycles, Motor-driven Cycles, Motorscooters, and Motorbicycles required to abide by traffic laws?

    YES. Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-109(1) and Model Traffic Code 109(1) state in part:

    Every person riding a motorized bicycle upon a roadway where motorized bicycle travel is permitted shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties and penalties applicable to the driver of a vehicle



    does this clear things up for you???
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2011
  7. darwin

    darwin Well-Known Member

  8. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    from the link darwin posted...
    Deletes the definition of motorscooter and motorbicycle 42-1-102(59)(a) and motorized bicycle 42-1-102(59)(b).


    look up the statutes and what i posted was copy and paste from the link at begining of the post...
     
  9. MikeJ

    MikeJ Member

    Hey, go easy on Ibedayank. He is correct in every line. I read the town of Broomfield's rules myself two years ago. They are the most easily read and easily understood of any rules put out by a Colorado town. The laws published by the STATE government are a lot more messy to understand and are more subject to more variations of interpretation.
     
  10. darwin

    darwin Well-Known Member

    OK we'll agree to disagree, the way I read it the low power scooter law does not apply to bicycles. This law was designed for the proliferation of under 50cc Scooters running around lately and you do need insurance for those. A bicycle is not a scooter and noone thats sane will call a bicycle a scooter............anyways have fun I am.
     
  11. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    good bye darwin welcome to the bin
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2011
  12. darwin

    darwin Well-Known Member

    OK i'm passionate about CO laws because it affects me, i'm still right. Love ya man!
     
  13. snogcel

    snogcel New Member

    I successfully obtained a Colorado "Motorized Bicycle" registration decal last summer. I used the "Low Power Scooter" application form, included a check for $5.85, and included a copy of my PayPal sales invoice from the purchase of my "China Girl" engine through E-bay. I'd owned the bicycle for over ten years and had no sales receipt or other paperwork for it, but that didn't seem to matter. I just entered the bike's make and frame serial number on the form, and indicated that I'd purchased an appropriate 50cc engine. In a couple of weeks an envelope from the Department of Revenue arrived, with the decal stapled to my original application. Stuck said decal to said bike, and I'm now officially street legal!

    Try it, you'll like it!
     
  14. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    snogcel..
    thanks for the info from a coloradian
     
  15. wbuttry

    wbuttry Member

    these things we ride are mostly considered mopeds not scooters moped laws are different than motorcycle laws so try to tag it as a moped if all else fails
     
  16. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    better off doing what the Government of Colorado tells you to
    the link i posted tells you what you need and what form to use.... that simple
    as Snogcel has done


    Do not leave it to the local dmv and cops to know all the laws if you want to ride a MB it is up to YOU to learn the laws and what you need to do to legaly to do so.


    When i went to MY local DMv to check and see what i needed to do to ride legal not one of the 5 Gals knew or had a clue. they had to call the main DMV in nashville to answer my questions. I only need a valid DL under 50CC and no GEARS aka no shift kits or pocket bike motors. No insureance or tags needed in the state of Tennessee. If electric no dl needed or anything else if under under 1001 watts of power
     
  17. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    all info i posted was from a colorado website...
    if i didn't have a vested interest in the laws and going by them id be stuck
    paying over a $1000 in fines because of a local sherifs deputy that didnt know the laws here so he choose to make up his own to pull me over.
    I BEAT all charges in court and had the prosacuter say to dismiss all charges against me. I won because i KNEW the laws the deputy didn't. And i could prove it. Gotta love the Gals at the local DMV they helped me look up the statutes that i was charged with and copied them on paper with the DMV stamp and dated them.
     
  18. rawly old

    rawly old Member

    federal power-assisted bicycle law supercedes state & local laws except
    those pertaining to all motorized vehicles, i.e. bike paths, sidewalks,trails,etc.
    What this means is that if your bike is compliant to the Fed, you're pretty
    much good to go in any state.
    I don't have the full particulars handy, but basically its under 50cc, helmet,
    lights, doesn't exceed 30 mph on the flat under power alone, mirror, EPA ok.
    When i was a kid in Colorado, back in another century, if you were 14 and
    under 6 hp. you could ride...period! sad to say, dem days is gone.
     
  19. darwin

    darwin Well-Known Member

    2009

    Released September 29,2009. Current Information Available at Low-Power Scooter



    The following is effective October 1, 2009:

    Creates a definition for Low-power Scooter 42-1-102(48.5)
    Self-propelled vehicle designed primarily for use on the roadways with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, no manual clutch, and either of the following:
    A cylinder capacity not exceeding fifty cubic centimeters if powered by internal combustion; or
    A wattage not exceeding four thousand four hundred seventy six if powered by electricity.
    Low-power scooter shall not include a toy vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, wheelchair, or any device designed to assist mobility-impaired people who use pedestrian rights-of-way.
    Creates a definition for Electrical Assisted Bicycle 42-1-102(28.5)
    Vehicle having two tandem wheels or two parallel wheels and one forward wheel, fully operable pedals, an electric motor not exceeding 750 watts of power and a top motor powered speed of 20 mph.
    Creates a definition for Electric Personal Assistive Mobility Device (Segway) 42-1-102(28.7)
    Self-balancing, nontandem two-wheeled device, designed to transport only one person, that is powered solely by an electric propulsion system producing an average power output of no more than 750 watts.
    Modifies the definition of toy vehicle to eliminate the wheel diameter and to exclude off-highway vehicles or snowmobiles 42-1-102(103.5).
    Modifies the definition of vehicle to include an electrical assisted bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device 42-1-102(112).
    Clarifies the definition of motorcycle to specify that it does not include low-power scooter 42-1-102(55).
    Clarifies the definition of motor vehicle to specify that it does not include low-power scooter 42-1-102(58).
    Deletes the definition of motor-driven cycle 42-1-102(56).
    Deletes the definition of motorscooter and motorbicycle 42-1-102(59)(a) and motorized bicycle 42-1-102(59)(b).
    Requires the operator of a low-power scooter to possess a valid driver's license.
    Requires a low-power scooter to be registered by the Department of Revenue. Registration will be evidenced by a decal issued by the state office that is valid for three years.


    The following is effective July 1, 2010:

    Requires the low-power scooter owners to have insurance upon registration and pay the motorist insurance identification fee.
    Allows Motor Vehicle Dealers or Used Motor Vehicle Dealers to act as an authorized agent of the department for the purposes of registering low-power scooters.
    Requires the owner of a low-power scooter to have complying insurance to operate the low-power scooter.
     
  20. IbedaYank

    IbedaYank Member

    http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=

    SECTION 22. 42-1-102 (10), (55), (56), (58), (59), (103.5), and (112), Colorado Revised Statutes, are amended, and the said 42-1-102 is further amended BY THE ADDITION OF THE FOLLOWING NEW SUBSECTIONS, to read:




    42-1-102. Definitions. As used in articles 1 to 4 of this title, unless the context otherwise requires:




    (10) "Bicycle" means every A vehicle propelled solely by human power applied to pedals upon which any A person may ride having two tandem wheels or two parallel wheels and one forward wheel, all of which are more than fourteen inches in diameter.




    (28.5) "ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE" MEANS A VEHICLE HAVING TWO TANDEM WHEELS OR TWO PARALLEL WHEELS AND ONE FORWARD WHEEL, FULLY OPERABLE PEDALS, AN ELECTRIC MOTOR NOT EXCEEDING SEVEN HUNDRED AND FIFTY WATTS OF POWER, AND A TOP MOTOR-POWERED SPEED OF TWENTY MILES PER HOUR.




    (28.7) "ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE MOBILITY DEVICE" OR "EPAMD" MEANS A SELF-BALANCING, NONTANDEM TWO-WHEELED DEVICE, DESIGNED TO TRANSPORT ONLY ONE PERSON, THAT IS POWERED SOLELY BY AN ELECTRIC PROPULSION SYSTEM PRODUCING AN AVERAGE POWER OUTPUT OF NO MORE THAN SEVEN HUNDRED FIFTY WATTS.




    (48.5) (a) "LOW-POWER SCOOTER" MEANS A SELF-PROPELLED VEHICLE DESIGNED PRIMARILY FOR USE ON THE ROADWAYS WITH NOT MORE THAN THREE WHEELS IN CONTACT WITH THE GROUND, NO MANUAL CLUTCH, AND EITHER OF THE FOLLOWING:




    (I) A CYLINDER CAPACITY NOT EXCEEDING FIFTY CUBIC CENTIMETERS IF POWERED BY INTERNAL COMBUSTION; OR




    (II) A WATTAGE NOT EXCEEDING FOUR THOUSAND FOUR HUNDRED SEVENTY-SIX IF POWERED BY ELECTRICITY.




    (b) "LOW-POWER SCOOTER" SHALL NOT INCLUDE A TOY VEHICLE, BICYCLE, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE, WHEELCHAIR, OR ANY DEVICE DESIGNED TO ASSIST MOBILITY IMPAIRED PEOPLE WHO USE PEDESTRIAN RIGHTS-OF-WAY.




    (55) "Motorcycle" means every motor vehicle designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground; except any such vehicle as may be included within the term THAT THE TERM DOES NOT INCLUDE A farm tractor and except a motorized bicycle as defined in paragraph (b) of subsection (59) of this section OR LOW-POWER SCOOTER.




    (56) "Motor-driven cycle" means every motorcycle, including every motorscooter, with a motor which produces not to exceed six brake-horsepower and every bicycle with motor attached, but not trail bikes, minibikes, go-carts, golf carts, and similar vehicles which are not designed for or approved by the department for use on the public roads or highways and not motorized bicycles as defined in paragraph (b) of subsection (59) of this section.




    (58) "Motor vehicle" means any self-propelled vehicle which THAT is designed primarily for travel on the public highways and which THAT is generally and commonly used to transport persons and property over the public highways; but EXCEPT THAT the term does not include motorized bicycles as defined in paragraph (b) of subsection (59) of this section LOW-POWER SCOOTERS, wheelchairs, as defined by subsection (113) of this section, or vehicles moved solely by human power. "Motor vehicle" includes a neighborhood electric vehicle operated pursuant to section 42-4-111 (1) (aa). For the purposes of the offenses described in sections 42-2-128, 42-4-1301, and 42-4-1401 42-4-1301, 42-4-1301.1, AND 42-4-1401 for farm tractors and off-highway vehicles, as defined in section 33-14.5-101 (3), C.R.S., operated on streets and highways, "motor vehicle" includes a farm tractor or an off-highway vehicle which THAT is not otherwise classified as a motor vehicle. FOR THE PURPOSES OF SECTIONS 42-2-127, 42-2-127.7, 42-2-128, 42-2-138, 42-2-206, 42-4-1301, AND 42-4-1301.1, "MOTOR VEHICLE" INCLUDES A LOW-POWER SCOOTER.




    (59) (a) "Motorscooter" and "motorbicycle" mean every motor vehicle designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, except any such vehicle as may be included within the term "farm tractor" as defined in this section and any motorized bicycle as defined in paragraph (b) of this subsection (59), which motor vehicle is powered by an engine of not to exceed six brake-horsepower.




    (b) "Motorized bicycle" means a vehicle having two or three wheels, a cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cc, and an automatic transmission which produces a maximum design speed of not more than thirty miles per hour on a flat surface.




    (103.5) (a) "Toy vehicle" means any vehicle whether or not home-built by the user, that has wheels with an outside diameter of not more than fourteen inches and is not designed approved, or intended for use on public roadways or highways OR FOR OFF-ROAD USE.




    (b) "Toy vehicle" includes, but is not limited to, gas-powered or electric-powered vehicles commonly known as mini bikes, "pocket" bikes, kamikaze boards, go-peds, and stand-up scooters.




    (c) "TOY VEHICLE" DOES NOT INCLUDE OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES OR SNOWMOBILES.




    (112) "Vehicle" means any A device which THAT is capable of moving itself, or of being moved, from place to place upon wheels or endless tracks. "Vehicle" includes, any WITHOUT LIMITATION, A bicycle, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE, OR EPAMD, but such term does not include any A wheelchair, as defined by subsection (113) of this section, or any off-highway vehicle, snowmobile, any farm tractor, or any implement of husbandry designed primarily or exclusively for use and used in agricultural operations or any device moved by muscular power or moved exclusively over stationary rails or tracks or designed to move primarily through the air.




    SECTION 23. 42-2-103 (2), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-2-103. Motorcycles - low-power scooters - driver's license required. (2) (a) An operator of a motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER shall possess a valid driver's license or minor driver's license.

    42-3-105. Application for registration - tax. (1) (d) (I) The department or its authorized agents shall not register a motor vehicle OR LOW-POWER SCOOTER unless the applicant has a complying motor vehicle insurance policy pursuant to part 6 of article 4 of title 10, C.R.S., or a certificate of self-insurance in full force and effect as required by sections 10-4-619 and 10-4-624, C.R.S. The requirements of this paragraph (d) apply only to motor vehicles classified as Class C personal property under section 42-3-106 (2) (c), to light trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, and to sports utility vehicles that are classified as Class B personal property under section 42-3-106 (2) (b), OR TO LOW-POWER SCOOTERS. The applicant shall provide the department or its authorized agents with the proof of insurance certificate or insurance identification card provided to the applicant by the applicant's insurer pursuant to section 10-4-604.5, C.R.S., or provide proof of insurance in such other media as is authorized by the department. Nothing in this paragraph (d) shall be interpreted to preclude the department from electronically transmitting insurance information to designated agents pursuant to section 42-7-604 for the purpose of ensuring compliance with mandatory insurance requirements.




    (II) Any person who knowingly provides fraudulent information or documents under subparagraph (I) of this paragraph (d) to obtain registration of a motor vehicle OR LOW-POWER SCOOTER is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to the criminal and civil penalties provided under section 42-6-139 (3) and (4).




    (2) Upon applying for registration, the owner of a motor vehicle OR LOW-POWER SCOOTER shall receive a written notice printed on the application for registration in type that is larger than the other information contained on the application for registration. Such notice shall state that motor vehicle insurance or operator's coverage is compulsory in Colorado, that noncompliance is a misdemeanor traffic offense, that the minimum penalty for such offense is a five-hundred-dollar fine, and that the maximum penalty for such offense is one year's imprisonment and a one-thousand-dollar fine, and that such owner shall be required as a condition of obtaining a registration card to sign an affirmation clause that appears on the registration. The clause shall state, "I swear or affirm in accordance with section 24-12-102, C.R.S., under penalty of perjury that I now have in effect a complying policy of motor vehicle insurance including an operator's policy pursuant to part 6 of article 4 of title 10, C.R.S., or a certificate of self-insurance to cover the vehicle or operator of the vehicle for which this registration is issued, and I understand that such insurance must be renewed so that coverage is continuous.




    Signature __________________, Date ____________.





    (4) (a) A MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER OR USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER LICENSED UNDER ARTICLE 6 OF THIS TITLE MAY ACT AS AN AUTHORIZED AGENT OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR THE PURPOSES OF COMPLIANCE WITH THIS SECTION AND COLLECTION OF FEES REQUIRED FOR THE REGISTRATION OF LOW-POWER SCOOTERS REQUIRED BY THIS ARTICLE. WHEN THE OWNER OF THE LOW-POWER SCOOTER COMPLIES WITH THIS SECTION, THE DEALER SHALL FORWARD TO THE DEPARTMENT AN AFFIDAVIT SWEARING THAT THE OWNER HAS INSURANCE, THE STATEMENT REQUIRED BY SUBSECTION (2) OF THIS SECTION, AND THE FEES REQUIRED BY PART 3 OF THIS ARTICLE FOR THE REGISTRATION OF A LOW-POWER SCOOTER.




    (b) NOTWITHSTANDING ANY PROVISION OF LAW TO THE CONTRARY, IN A CIVIL ACTION FOR DAMAGES OR INDEMNIFICATION RESULTING FROM THE OPERATION OF A MOTOR VEHICLE, A MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER, USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER, OR EMPLOYEE THEREOF SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR AN ACT OR OMISSION ARISING AS A RESULT OF THE DEALER OR EMPLOYEE PERFORMING THE FUNCTIONS OF AN AGENT PURSUANT TO THIS SUBSECTION (4).




    (c) UPON FINDING A PATTERN OF FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF PARAGRAPH (a) OF THIS SUBSECTION (4), THE DEPARTMENT MAY WITHDRAW A MOTOR DEALER'S OR USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER'S AUTHORIZATION TO ACT AS AN AGENT OF THE DEPARTMENT.




    SECTION 28. 42-3-301 (2) (a) (VIII), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-301. License plate cash fund - license plate fees. (2) (a) The fees imposed pursuant to subsection (1) of this section shall be set in an amount necessary to recover only the costs of the production and distribution of any license plates, decals, or validating tabs issued pursuant to this article and shall be:




    (VIII) Twenty-five cents per motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER decal issued pursuant to this section;




    SECTION 29. 42-3-304 (4), (5), and (6) (a), Colorado Revised Statutes, are amended to read:




    42-3-304. Registration fees - passenger and passenger-mile taxes - clean screen fund. (4) Upon registration, the owner of each motorcycle or motorscooter shall pay a surcharge of four dollars, which shall be credited to the motorcycle operator safety training fund created in section 43-5-504, C.R.S.




    (5) In lieu of registering each vehicle separately, a dealer in motorcycles motorscooters, or motorbicycles shall pay to the department an annual registration fee of twenty-five dollars for the first license plate issued pursuant to section 42-3-116 (1), a fee of seven dollars and fifty cents for each additional license plate so issued up to and including five such plates, and a fee of ten dollars for each license plate so issued in excess of five.




    (6) In lieu of registering each vehicle separately:




    (a) A dealer in motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers, except dealers in motorcycles, motorscooters, and motorbicycles, shall pay to the department an annual fee of thirty dollars for the first license plate issued pursuant to section 42-3-116 (1), and a fee of seven dollars and fifty cents for each additional license plate so issued up to and including five, and a fee of ten dollars for each license plate so issued in excess of five; and




    SECTION 30. 42-3-304 (18) (d), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-304. Registration fees - passenger and passenger-mile taxes - clean screen fund. (18) (d) (I) In addition to any other fee imposed by this section, the owner shall pay, at the time of registration of any A motor vehicle in the state OR LOW-POWER SCOOTER, a motorist insurance identification fee. The fee shall be adjusted annually by the department, based upon moneys appropriated by the general assembly for the operation of the motorist insurance identification database program. In no event shall the fee exceed fifty cents. The fee shall be transmitted to the state treasurer, who shall credit it to a special account within the highway users tax fund, to be known as the motorist insurance identification account, which is hereby created. Moneys in the motorist insurance identification account shall be used, subject to appropriation by the general assembly, to cover the costs of administration and enforcement of the motorist insurance identification database program, created in section 42-7-604; except that the state treasurer shall transfer moneys in the account in excess of the amount of moneys appropriated from the account to the highway users tax fund for allocation and expenditure as specified in section 43-4-205 (5.5) (c), C.R.S.




    (II) This paragraph (d) is repealed, effective July 1, 2006, unless the motorist insurance identification database program created in section 42-7-604 is extended by the general assembly beyond such date.




    SECTION 31. 42-3-305 (2) (a), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-305. Registration fees - passenger and passenger-mile taxes - fee schedule for years of TABOR surplus revenue - applicability. (2) Fees for the annual registration of passenger-carrying motor vehicles shall be as follows:




    (a) Motorcycles, motorscooters, and motorbicycles, two dollars and twenty-five cents;




    SECTION 32. 42-3-306 (2) (a), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-306. Registration fees - passenger and passenger-mile taxes - fee schedule for years in which TABOR surplus revenue is insufficient. (2) Fees for the annual registration of passenger-carrying motor vehicles shall be as follows:




    (a) Motorcycles, motorscooters, and motorbicycles, three dollars;




    SECTION 33. 42-3-310 (4), Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-310. Additional registration fees - apportionment of fees. (4) Two dollars and fifty cents of each annual vehicle registration fee imposed by sections 42-3-304 to 42-3-306, exclusive of the annual registration fees prescribed for motorcycles, motorscooters, motorbicycles, trailer coaches, mobile machinery and self-propelled construction equipment, and trailers having an empty weight of two thousand pounds or less and exclusive of a registration fee paid for a fractional part of a year, shall not be transmitted to the department but shall be paid over by the authorized agent, as collected, to the county treasurer, who shall credit the same to an account entitled "apportioned vehicle registration fees". On the tenth day of each month, the county treasurer shall apportion the balance in such account existing on the last day of the immediately preceding month between the county and the cities and incorporated towns located within the boundaries of the county on the basis of the record of rural and urban registrations that indicates the place of residence of each vehicle owner.




    SECTION 34. 42-3-311, Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended to read:




    42-3-311. Low-power scooter registration - fee. (1) Every motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER sold in this state shall have an identification number stamped on its frame, which number shall be recorded upon registration. Motorized bicycles A LOW-POWER SCOOTER shall be registered with the department, and such registration WHICH REGISTRATION shall be evidenced by a number decal that is securely affixed to the motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER frame in a conspicuous place. Registration shall be valid for a period of three years, and the fee for such registration shall be five dollars. Retail sellers of motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS shall retain one dollar from each such fee, and four dollars of each such fee shall be forwarded monthly to the department for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of the highway users tax fund.




    (2) The general assembly shall make appropriations from the fund for the expenses of the administration of this section, and any fees credited to the fund pursuant to this subsection (1) OF THIS SECTION in excess of the amount of the appropriations shall be allocated and expended as specified in section 43-4-205 (5.5) (f), C.R.S. The department shall promulgate rules authorizing retail sellers of motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS to be agents of the department for such registration.




    SECTION 35. 42-4-109 (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (6.5), (7), and (11), Colorado Revised Statutes, are amended to read:




    42-4-109. Low-power scooters, animals, skis, skates, and toy vehicles on highways. (1) Every A person riding a motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER upon a roadway where motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER travel is permitted shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties and penalties applicable to the driver of a vehicle as set forth in this article except those provisions of this article which THAT, by their very nature, can have no application. Said riders shall also comply with special rules set forth in this section and in section 42-4-220 (1) (b) and (1) (c) and, when using streets and highways within incorporated cities and towns, shall be subject to local ordinances regulating the operation of motorized bicycles as provided in section 42-4-111. Whenever the word "vehicle" is used in any of the driving rules set forth in this article that are applicable to motorized bicycle riders, such term shall include motorized bicycles.




    (2) A person riding a motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached thereto.




    (3) No motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed and equipped.




    (4) No person riding upon any motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER, coaster, roller skates, sled, or toy vehicle shall attach the same or himself or herself to any vehicle upon a roadway.




    (5) Every A person operating a motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER upon a roadway shall ride as close to the right side of the roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction.




    (6) Persons riding motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS upon a roadway shall not ride more than two abreast. except on lanes or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.




    (6.5) A person under the age of eighteen years may not operate or carry a passenger who is under eighteen years of age on a motorized bicycle on a highway in this state LOW-POWER SCOOTER unless the person and the passenger are wearing protective helmets in accordance with the provisions of section 42-4-1502 (4.5).




    (7) For the sake of uniformity and bicycle, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE, and motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER safety throughout the state, the department in cooperation with the department of transportation shall prepare and make available to all local jurisdictions for distribution to bicycle, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE, and motorized bicycle LOW-POWER SCOOTER riders therein a digest of state regulations explaining and illustrating the rules of the road, equipment requirements, and traffic control devices that are applicable to such riders and their bicycles, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLES, or motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS. Local authorities may supplement this digest with a leaflet describing any additional regulations of a local nature that are applicable APPLY within their respective jurisdictions.




    (11) Where suitable bike paths, horseback trails, or other trails have been established on the right-of-way or parallel to and within one-fourth mile of the right-of-way of heavily traveled streets and highways, the department of transportation may, subject to the provisions of section 43-2-135, C.R.S., by resolution or order entered in its minutes, and local authorities may, where suitable bike paths, horseback trails, or other trails have been established on the right-of-way or parallel to it within four hundred fifty feet of the right-of-way of heavily traveled streets, by ordinance, determine and designate, upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation, those heavily traveled streets and highways upon which shall be prohibited any bicycle, ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE, animal rider, animal-drawn conveyance, or other class or kind of nonmotorized traffic which THAT is found to be incompatible with the normal and safe movement of traffic, and, upon such a determination, the department of transportation or local authority shall erect appropriate official signs giving notice thereof; except that, with respect to controlled access highways, the provisions of section 42-4-1010 (3) shall apply. When such official signs are so erected, no person shall violate any of the instructions contained thereon.




    SECTION 36. The introductory portion to 42-4-111 (1) and 42-4-111 (1) (h), (1) (z), and (2), Colorado Revised Statutes, are amended, and the said 42-4-111 (1) is further amended BY THE ADDITION OF THE FOLLOWING NEW PARAGRAPHS, to read:




    42-4-111. Powers of local authorities. (1) The provisions of This article shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities, with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the reasonable exercise of the police power, except those streets and highways which THAT are parts of the state highway system which THAT are subject to the provisions of section 43-2-135, C.R.S., from:




    (h) Regulating the operation of bicycles OR ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLES and requiring the registration and licensing of same, including the requirement of a registration fee, consistent with the provisions of this article;




    (z) Regulating the operation of motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS, consistent with the provisions of this article; except that local authorities shall be prohibited from establishing any requirements for the registration and licensing of motorized bicycles LOW-POWER SCOOTERS;




    (cc) AUTHORIZING, PROHIBITING, OR REGULATING THE USE OF AN EPAMD ON A ROADWAY, SIDEWALK, BIKE PATH, OR PEDESTRIAN PATH CONSISTENT WITH SECTION 42-4-117 (1) AND (3);




    (dd) AUTHORIZING THE USE OF THE ELECTRICAL MOTOR ON AN ELECTRICAL ASSISTED BICYCLE ON A BIKE OR PEDESTRIAN PATH.




    (2) No ordinance or regulation enacted under paragraph (a), (b), (e), (f), (g), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), (p), (q), (r), (v), (x), (y), or (aa), OR (cc) of subsection (1) of this section shall be effective until official signs or other traffic control devices conforming to standards as required by section 42-4-602 and giving notice of such local traffic regulations are placed upon or at the entrances to the highway or part thereof affected as may be most appropriate.




    SECTION 37. Part 1 of article 4 of title 42, Colorado Revised Statutes, is amended BY THE ADDITION OF A NEW SECTION to read:
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
Loading...