Michigan riders?

Discussion in 'Races, Events & Group Rides' started by barrynof, Feb 14, 2009.

1. barrynof

barrynof New Member

any michigan riders out there?

2. skyl4rk

skyl4rk Guest

Yes, a few of us are riding in this weather.

3. barrynof

barrynof New Member

ideas on where to get started?

I live NW of Detroit. Any ideas of where to go to get ideas or get started in this process? i am new to all of this.

4. skyl4rk

skyl4rk Guest

I live where Baseline Rd runs into Lake MI. Do you have a bike that you want to motorize or are you starting from scratch?

5. MotoMagz

MotoMagz Member

You are in the right place to get answers to ?'s you might have. I'm my self have had 2 and 4 strokes frame mounts.The Grubee 4 stroke kit was the one for me.Good luck,MotoMagz

6. Simonator

Simonator Guest

Grand rapids here. I ride all year round.

7. barrynof

barrynof New Member

schwinn frontier

my bike is a schwinn frontier. i have had it about 12 years.

8. skyl4rk

skyl4rk Guest

So its a hardtail mountain bike, that is a good type of bike to convert to motorized. If you want a good quality kit that will last a long time, look at the:

GEBE system ($600) http://www.bikeengines.com/ - made in Michigan

or the Titan ($400) http://www.thatsdax.com/ .

If you want something cheap that will last a summer, go for a cheap 2 stroke ($125), see sponsors on this page.

9. barrynof

barrynof New Member

opinion on wilderness electric hub motor

skyl4rk-
    i noticed on a search that you had a post on a hybrid you were building. in the post you mentioned that you had a wilderness hub motor on the bike. what are your thoughts on using this kind of motor? i am going to be using this bike to go back and forth to work about 10 miles round trip. which engine is easier to install? gas or the electric hub motor.

10. skyl4rk

skyl4rk Guest