New build, general questions

Jason8178

Local time
7:38 AM
So I am fairly new to the motorized bike scene. I have a good amount of mechanical knowledge with small engines such as mowers and weed eaters. I purchased my first engine kit from Amazon a few months back. I ended up getting an 80cc pexmore kit. With that said I put it together and it ran . Went Inside for a few, cam a back out and it wouldn't turn over. Long story short I pulled a piece of metal out that was stuck to the crank bearing. Once I got it to turn of course. So for my next build, (which I hope will be this coming month) I would like to gather some info from anyone on what actions to take to ensure I have no issues like before

Oh... and it took me another 2 weeks to figure out I didn't have the woodruff key in lol. On my 3rd teardown of the engine to find the issue as to why it wouldn't run. Pulled the magnet and no key. Needless to say when I did install it, the bike fired right up

So I am fairly new to the motorized bike scene. I have a good amount of mechanical knowledge with small engines such as mowers and weed eaters. I purchased my first engine kit from Amazon a few months back. I ended up getting an 80cc pexmore kit. With that said I put it together and it ran . Went Inside for a few, cam a back out and it wouldn't turn over. Long story short I pulled a piece of metal out that was stuck to the crank bearing. Once I got it to turn of course. So for my next build, (which I hope will be this coming month) I would like to gather some info from anyone on what actions to take to ensure I have no issues like before
The first thing you should do with any new motor kit is to take the bottom end and turn it upside down to shake out any metal filings that are usually in it when it was manufactured, during drilling, milling etc....Then flush it out with just a little breakin gas/oil mix you have lying around and then pour it out.