New Member Saying 'Hello'

Matt K

Local time
5:13 AM
I'm new to engine powered bikes. I have managed to build a bike using an old 'huffy' frame I got at a garage sale. I mounted a 'Sick Bike Parts' jackshaft set-up w/ a 48 cc chinese 2 stroke, using a SRAM P-5 Hub and a Sturmey-Archer 90 mm drum brake on front wheel. Topped off w/ a 'Brooks' (wide) leather seat. [54 yrs old- 6ft.2 in- & 240 lbs...I figured I needed the width of the seat]. I had a local bike shop build my rims using 13 ga. spokes on top of Alex DM-24 rims. So far, so good....except the engine won't start. I don't ssem to have enough oompf on the pedal to get it fired up and I'm beginning to wonder if something is not right. Or do I need a pull-start???
Any & all suggestions will be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Matt

don't sweat it yet.

If its the same type as I got then check the carburetor make sure that you pump the little button on the top and then use the choke lever(up is on down is off) then make sure your going about ten miles an hour before you let out the clutch and then keep on going for about fifty feet. I live on a little hill and it helps me out. when it fires, let it run that way for a bit and then put the choke to the off position. it should run after that.

For me the bike will not run well until its warmed up and that takes over a mile or so. after that its up to you if you want to go with things that will make it go faster(tuned pip ect.)

I would recommend that after you run it for a wile (less than ten minutes or so) you go back and check all of your hardware and see what has loosened up.

good luck!

Mike Frye the bike guy

Engine won't start

RetroMike3,
Thanks for the reply, however with the bike having the jackshaft set-up the only way to get the motor to turn is to pedal. There is a freewheel set-up that prevents the motor from spinning the pedals at 5600 rpm [which is good, so I'm told{snicker}] but a byproduct of it is when the rear wheel turns the motor doesn't.