should I build a pedicab trailer ???

azbill

Local time
4:01 PM
I am pulling my 2 granddaughters (3.5yrs + 5.5yrs) in a common 2 seater childrens trailer
I have been pulling them in one for 4+ years...3 with an engine (well over 6000 miles)
now they are getting bigger and I need suggestions or ideas on how to upsize their ride
I take both to school mon-fri and return home with youngest (I live with them and babysit while mom n dad are working)
should I think of a train type deal (2 trailers in tandem)?
or maybe a scaled down pedicab ?

any links to designs would be cool as well...so i can pick stuff that'll work for my needs :)

thanks for any help guys :):):)

I'm not sure a tandem deal might be the way to go, as there's a weight penalty to be paid with two trailers. In my opinion, the pedicab idea has more merit, and would be the way I'd go. Here's another thought, though it might incur the same kind of weight penalty as a tandem trailer arrangement, but how about a building a sidecar for one child, while towing the trailer with the other riding in it?

You get to ride your grandkids to school everyday?

Man, some guys have all the luck.

When my girls outgrew my trailer I cut out all the fabric covering and the sling seats, etc. Stipped it right down to the frame. Laid some boards across the bottom to make a floor. (This is my cargo trailer today, by the way) For a new seat I used one of those fold up, fabric arm chairs for camping that you can get at Wal-mart for about 10 bucks.
fastened it to the floor and used bungee cords to fasten the girls to the seat.

It gets you a bit more room for growing children. They'll outgrow that, of course, but you might get another year out of it. And then you'll have a fine cargo trailer.

Maybe you could build a trailer for them. Build it to hold two adults, so the kids will fit easily. I'm sure with some utility wheels, metal frame, chairs, and more, you can have a nice trailer.