sputtering during ride...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandman

Local time
1:05 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new here and am having problems with my first bike.
A little background, I have no 2-stroke or carb experience.
I have searched but cannot find a solution to this issue, while I am riding my engine starts to sputter and is not at all responsive to any changes in the throttle. It will surge then idle repeatedly, and the only way I have found to stop this is to cut the engine and let it sit for a little bit. I have adjusted the choke both ways it can go, and it doesn't seem to have any effect, it still does it when I get up to speed (I don't know how fast, as I have no spedo.)

hows the plug look when you pull it?

sorta sounds like its not getting enough fuel possibly... so plug would be dry, not much smoke.

letting it sit gives it time to refill the bowl... the surge is caused by the fuel level falling so low that the jet is only occasionally immersed.

maybe....

check the flow from the tap first to see if its the filter.

if good, its more inside the bowl of the carb. undoing the drain screw with the tap closed should empty the carb, and if it doesnt start draining straight away when you reopen the tap... ;)

Well I have resolved that it is a fuel flow problem, and here is why.
1.The plug is dry, and a bit dark, so I know my mix isn't right besides this,
2. It stalls then it restarts after a bit of time sitting,
3. I get the same reaction when I forget to open my pepcock when I start out (Imma newbie, so sue me)