Carby Air/fuel ratio concerns

maxalliance

Local time
5:28 AM
Hey, my name is Jordan and I'd like to start by saying thank you to the committed members of this community who offer sound advice in a friendly manner. I've spent a lot of time reading through the forum and have been fortunate to have found all my questions already asked and answered in clear, simple terms (I'm a noob).

This is actually my second kit. I bagged on my last one for over a year before it went and I decided to build a new one.
I drove my last one pretty hard in pretty severe conditions so I'm really surprised it lasted as long as it did but now I am looking to make something more powerful as my last kit was second-hand and likely never ran properly.

I've got a GT5-A [66cc slant] from here : http://www.motorizedbicycle.ca and assembled everything myself onto a Nakamura Trailback.
It was a very tight squeeze and unfortunately required drilling through the down-tube to install it (I ordered a large universal U bolt mount but it was still way to small).
I purchased a boost bottle kit as well but there is NO way it will fit, even with my intake offset pipe, it's very close.
I even had to take the top off the head and turn it around so that the spark plug pertruded toward the front of the bike.

I also purchased the NT Speed carb and installed it right away.

It took some tinkering to get it started at first but I was easy on it during the breakin and noticed that it already had more low end pull during breakin than my old engine (same model) ever did.

This performance, however, was short lived. After the first 2 tanks (mixed 16:1) I leaned my mixture out to about 24:1 and swapped my stock plug for a BH6S.
Shortly after it seemed to lose a lot of power in the low and but still pulled hard at 3/4 - WOT.
I tried switching back to the old plug and it didn't make a difference.