Brakes coaster brakes

Discussion in 'Bicycle Repair' started by Unregistered, Feb 5, 2008.

1. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

I'm new to motorized bicycles and was wondering if the single rear coaster brake on a single speed crusier has enough stopping power?

2. mickey

mickey Guest

I think a single brake is not enough to bet your life on. Especially a coaster brake. If you had a chain part, you'd have no brakes but your Fred Flintstones. :grin:

I'd add a front caliper brake at least.

3. Jim H

Jim H Guest

Not if it has a motor.

4. I recommend adding a front brake as soon as possible. A coaster brake generally won't stop you in an a sudden emergency stop, plus if your regular bike chain breaks or jumps off the sprocket....you'll have no brakes at all. Spooky Tooth sells a nice meaty front brake kit that will stop much more quickly than a coaster. Best of luck with your new MB.

5. Do yourself a big favor and invest in atleast a front caliper brake. My coaster brake is sketchy enough as it is, factor an engine into it and you're asking for trouble.

6. Bean Oil

Bean Oil Guest

Short answer: No.

Always add a front brake; whatever you can use up front is a HUGE safety advantage in an emergency stop.
    Just cruisin' around, yeah, the foot brake is fine but if you need to stop instantly and in a short a distance as possible, you need a front brake.

Now, join up! Register here with a username, a password and post an introductory post as per the private message that will be sent to you upon completetion of your free registration.

:)~

7. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

there ya go...we got all 5 of those replies independantly of each other...& i personally agree.

8. JemmaUK

JemmaUK Guest

My advice is the coaster brake will stop you - up until it dies/fails ... and then you would be in trouble

my personal setup would be (when I have the money) - front drum brake and front rim brake plus the coaster - depending on the speed of the machine...