oldie but newbie

macquest

Local time
10:39 PM
Hi folks, from Illinois here. I just discovered the existence of this site a week or so ago, and now that I have and have read as much as I can on a 4.3 inch screen I'm determined to buy, build and have my own motorized bike. For the last month I've been riding as much as possible on my 29" mtn bike (mongoose/walmart) but there are a lot of hills and grades here and I want to br able to go further and faster than my age and health allows currently.
Anyway I'm going to read and learn all I can and hopefully get advice from you experienced members on what bike style, motor and drive would be best for me. Following are a few questions and thoughts I have so far on what I'm leaning towards.

My stats etc.
I'm 41, about 230 lbs. (Trying to lose about 50, hard work at my age even with a physical job. I'm a carpenter) I've ridden about 50 miles the last 2 months, riding more everyday. Once I get a motored bike I plan to ride 10-20 per day (work commute etc) plus occasional longer trips on weekends.

So far what I'm thinking about is a cruiser type bike, frame mounted motor with nuvinci hub and the SBP freewheel jackshaft power system (I hope thats what I mean. Also im sort of set on a 4-stroke motor, maybe the Honda gx35 or similar. I want something powerful and durable yet very quiet. Also I'd like to have it legal, so as I'm in Illinois I think it would have to have top speed of 20 mph.

Anyway thanks to you all that read this and especially for any knowledgeable input. I want to build/buy as soon as I can decide what is the best setup for me.

Safety, comfort, power.
If I had a "do over", that's what I'd do.
To use a shift kit, you need a frame that comes with multi-speed, measuring at least 130mm (5.12") width @ the rear axle.
I recommend a suspension fork to smooth the bumpy roads, and a 203mm disc brake.